You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Now Is Your Chance: The Silver Lining

in #life6 years ago

As much as I'm afraid that crypto is dead forever ATM, I also always prefer these quieter times on Steemit, when only those who are here because they like being here are left.

I'm sorry you were made to feel unwelcome. I'm glad for this post.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I don't talk about crypto much but of course it's high up on my list of personal interests, and I do pay a lot of attention to the crypto world. What's bringing it down now seems to be greed and human error. The same element is present here. People only thinking of themselves, willing to bring the place down for a few hundred dollars worth of paid votes or whatever. The bright side is this place has a solid community of people who do care, people who want nice things in the future, and they're not quiet about it.

As for that unwelcome part. Fuck it.

Exactly. As much as I want us all to find financial freedom, hey at the end of this month, I will have written a novel. And if it weren't for the people on Steemit encouraging me, I wouldn't have written a novel. Maybe it's not a great novel (though some of the chapters have gotten curie votes) but it's still more prose than I've ever strung together before, and that's an accomplishment in and of itself. Building good habits.

There's that app that gamifies tasks for you... you, like, level up and fight monsters by going for your daily run or cleaning or whatever, but the artifice was too real. Here, even though the "pay" is a pittance for the effort, it seems like a real level up reward for things I want to be doing anyway. And again, the people who support you really do care enough.

I wouldn't have done anything I've done here without the support and encouragement everyone else provided. I would have wasted another two years of my life zoning out and playing video games, earning nothing, had it not been for this place. I'd probably off somewhere getting triggered by a pointless comment made within a Facebook group or something equally disappointing. This place rewards genuine humanity. I don't even have to fake it. People seem to be fine with this mess of a man I am. That in itself offers the feeling of reward.

Interaction online seems far more difficult to me these days than it did when I was a kid and we used chat rooms. But steemit seems to have recaptured some of that. Perhaps because we're not all yet stuck in our boxes. There are few enough of us that we even interact with people we don't agree with, which is what people do IRL, too. I think that's essential to behaving like a decent human and having insightful thoughts: interacting with new ideas.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60140.74
ETH 2559.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54