You don't want to be in the quiet roomsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago



Our doctor looked at me, it is that time. Steeling myself before preceding him to the family awaiting for some news, I hardened my heart to what was coming. I can never get used to it. A part of me longs for the time that I won't be doing this anymore.

Imagine a scenario where your husband, your wife, your dad, your bestfriend, your neighbour, or anyone that you love going out of the house to go to work or being up and about the whole day and later on learnt that he or she have been taken to the hospital having a heart attack. Will your heart stop?

Admitted last night from a restaurant as he was a chef, he never complained of chest pain. According to his colleagues, he complained of dizziness then fell backward unconscious and never woke up. He was only 45 years old, was a SMOKER and a diabetic. Very young.

Against all hope and prayers, but he is gone. 

Last night I can feel the wife's pain and his friends. The feeling of loss was palpable, the sound hitting you to the core. A nurse job is not only to the patient, it inludes the family too. And to cry is not an option...you have to be fully aware and be there for all of them. You still have a job to do.


I want to remind you guys that not all heart attack is preceded by chest pain. In some cases, they will just collapse. Please call the ambulance ASAP.



All images are mine and are original, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

Sort:  

Such a sad loss of life at such a young age. It's a stark reminder of how easily life can be taken away - I think we all associate heart attacks with chest pain and pain down the arm etc...... Thanks for the reminder that it doesn't always happen that way xx

Very easily yes.

.sad to hear about that . thanks for sharing this good post.

you're welcome.

Omg, this is a terrible, poor man

Felt terrible for his wife, i can still hear her till now.

I feel sorry about the family because it was sudden and he was very young.
We must be all aware and act accordingly before it's too late.

Always it's the family that gets left behind. I read somewhere that our spirits won't rest till our loved ones have accepted our passing.
The reason we are still here even when we are so sick. Am not sure if I should be saying this to you.

Ha ha That is OK I have a spiritual pillar that I am relying upon. Please do not believe anything other what is written in the bible.
Ecclesiastes 12:7King James Version (KJV)

7 Then shall the dust return to the earth as it was: and the spirit shall return unto God who gave it.

I see. Good on you. Gotta go :)

Awesome
Is it your channel on youtube ?

Do you have facebook account ?

Am sorry, you can ask me.

So terrible...a sudden loss of a loved one. I am so sorry for your loss.

it's one of my patients.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82