You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Miraculous Power of Acupressure

in #life8 years ago

Any similarity to reflexology? I dont know why but the harder the pressure is, though it's painful I find it better. Am sure there are techniques in doing it ;) Maybe amazon have that book, it sounds very helpful.

Sort:  

Hi immarojas :o) There are similarities to reflexology, but whereas reflexology is focused on the feet/hands/ears each as a representation of the whole body, acupressure (acupuncture) meridians and their points actually cover the entire body itself. And yes, particularly where a condition is chronic, the advice in acupressure is often to keep treating those points until the pain in the point itself lessens or is gone. I'd recommend using intuition/instinct when manipulating the points, although some practitioners have very much set approaches - Jacques Staehle's book, for example, uses a method based on 'boosting' (massaging the point clockwise) or 'dispersing' (massaging the point counter-clockwise). I do also spend time from time to time just finding sore points and treating them to a massage: regardless of their meridians or the part of the body they relate to, I find it helpful just to take care of my body in this way as a preventative (and enjoyable!) measure.

It is enjoyable indeed. Acupuncture sessions helped my back yrs ago, though it made me jump one time when it hit a something. Cupping too was helpful and can make you so relaxed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59017.22
ETH 2607.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45