My very first 50 cents

in #life7 years ago (edited)

In my country, try giving a child this now and he/she won't have a clue on what to do with it. Or anyone finding this coin along the road will no longer spare a second glance. In this time and age, this amount won't be able to buy anything nowadays.

There is no value, not anymore.

As a pre-school, the kids in my neighbourhood will just be playing the whole day. As for me, I hated having " Siesta" as it took me away from those games. Our world revolved around it, day after day. I remember pretending to sleep one time, waited for my aunt to sleep herself, then sneak away. T'was never found out of that am sure.

My aunt as a retired principal was into embroidery, her and her friends who were also retired teachers. She did her own designs of flowers with letterings. People back then wanted their names, family names as well embroidered. Blankets, pillowcases, table covers were covered with their intricate works. They don't do it together, only meeting each other after Sunday Mass. They borrow each others designs, that's for sure. Each time we go to Vigan, we bring the finished ones ourselves then get new ones. This had been my aunt's routine till her sight became problematic. The first noticeable sign being unable to pass the thread through the needle holes. She was always independent and headstrong, a very little woman with an attitude.

Who wants 50 CENTS???

So one day, my aunt told me to do her threads. For a 50 cents FEE. A 50 cents can buy a lot of candies then so why not? I went running to the store after that. Not remembering what i bought sure, but I remember my excitement at that time. I can see myself running to the store now, with my 50 cents clutched tightly in my tiny fist. Happy days!

Till now I can see it as clearly as it was. And I remember my aunt as clearly from that day. For the way I am with money right now, I credit all of it from her.

Cheers to you Auntie Teresa. Look at me now.

Addendum: Asking what year was this is not allowed.

Sort:  

remembering old days always give pleasure. what do you say @immarojas keep sharing your memorable post.

Oh definitely!Thank you so much for your nice reply☺

Clue po if what year hahaha di ko po alam addendum. :P :D
Sweet memories po, forever lives in our hearts. :)
Pinagbubunot ako ng uban noon for 25 cents hahaha.

25 cents isa???
eh di yumaman ka ahehehe🤣🤣

Kaunti lang naman po yung uban ng pinsan ko noon eh hahaha.

Ahahaha kahet na if 25 cents isa wahahaha

Pag sinuswerte nakaka limang piso. :D :D :P

momi @bearone got 5cents each sa mom nya 🤣🤣🤣

Great lessons from your tita.
I try tonteach my kids to pick up 25 cents if they see one in the road and put it in the piggy bank. Sayang din e makakabuo pa ng ilang piso.

So as it should..sa UK pulot ko yan ahahaha

Hello, @immarojas,

So nice to see you pass by my feed, and to read this nice story. :) It is good to remember those who have affected our lives.

And yes, sadly money is worth far less now than it used to be, thanks to the evil robbery of government inflation. I hope that cryptocurrency like Steemit will be kinder to us.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Steemit have been lately my friend..how have you been?Be well☺

I am doing mostly OK, dear... Thank you. How are you? :D

Great..on holiday right now in the Philippines. I don't think ive seen you around lately☺

Yeah, haven't seen you either...

I've been busy and stressed and all... But good to see you now! :D

Stressed @creatr?? Hope u're over about stuff now..but incase u are still, it gets better.

Thanks. :D

Cheers to your aunt. She taught you well.

She did, didn't she? Thank God she didn't spoil me🤣🤣🤣

So lovely memories! Your Auntie was a real life teacher :)

She was a bit strict at 4'9"
They do say "small but terrible"..very appropriate. She made me eat tomatoes like an apple at some point😍😍😍

My grandparents used to give money. As I remember, that when Christmas came and giving a 50 centavo as big as 1 peso carabao that I thought it was 1 peso also, but I know that it was 50cents when I bought some candy and waited some change!

I was grade 1 by that time 1992 i guess.. Hehe

Ala na change noh..naghintay ka pa🤣🤣

Nice to see how happy kids are with just something like a coin ore candy's
I know how happy I was when I made less than one dollar with steemit haha, Happy like a child :)

Regards,
Sha

Oh yeah..i was happy with my .02 cents for months and months🤣🤣

Hahah that is cute too!

Very true though☺

Good old days teach how us to treasure and value small amount. I remember my elementary days, my mom only gives me 1 peso a day, that includes my snack and everything I want to buy. A peso a makes me happy, knowing that these days, even 5 peso is not so valuable. Children prefer to have much snacks and money to go to school. hehe, Am I right @immarojas?

Oi ate..my 1 peso can buy mamon and coke🤣🤣🤣

Lol! Even the value of 50 Cents has depreciated today. OLD MEMORIES ARE LOVELY.

Reminiscing my friend..happening a lot nowadays. Can't be helped ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81