Can I buy you a drink?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

My answer to that would be – No, thank you. I don’t drink alcohol. Why? Because I don’t want to distract from myself.

Most people are afraid to feel uncomfortable, to feel things deeply. They are used to numbing themselves. Weather its alcohol, weed, pharmaceuticals or food addictions, it’s the same thing, it’s a way to distract from the truth within. But the greatest power in to own our feelings and our truth, to feel everything with depth and intensity. As soon as we step on a path of healing ourselves we realize - we don’t need to to distract and to escape from ourselves.

14666184_10154549181350782_7283482182276169432_n.jpg

I don’t want to mask what I am feeling, even when it’s uncomfortable. Pain is only a guidance mechanism to show us what in our lives is out of alignment.

To feel is to heal.

f55b9ce220ec35a19b4a546d1baa7907--mental-health-healing-emotional-pain.jpg

People often say, I just want to go out, have a drink to feel free and have fun. But is it truly your freedom? It is not. It is often escapism. Is this trully fun? I personally can think of so many countless way to have actual fun.

f90a5f2d7157bd4b3a6893ac889d724f.jpg

Many people are concerned of how it would affect their social life by not consuming alcohol. I don’t feel any social pressure to consume alcohol. Most of my friends are fairly conscious and would totally understand. Many who still are caught up in the matrix and wouldn’t understand my choice, they wouldn’t even notice after their second drink :)

12256867_1707834849437812_1635764620_n.jpg

What matters to me in my alignment with my true self not opinions or pressure from others.

150305_467421795974_1806608_n.jpg
Once upon a time...

IMG_0378 copy.jpg
These days... Fell free to offer me a coconut anytime ;) Or a cup of tea

I would rather have a real deep conversation with somebody over a beautiful dinner then have a meaningless talk over the alcohol.

I am not having ‘black and white’ kind of attitude with alcohol. In fact, if I truly feel like it I would have a glass of organic wine extremely rarely. But I have a totally different relationship with alcohol now than many years ago.

15036382_10154660870550782_949444762642075824_n.jpg

I love to make conscious choices for my highest good and I love to be present with myself fully, with this life, with others. I choose to feel things deeply. Good and bad. Beautiful and ugly. Cheers to truth and authenticity! Ilze xox

un3tw.jpg

Sort:  

How about a smoothie ? :)

Yes please! ;) I love smoothies haha

Great, it's a deal . :)

Love this high vibrational post!! Followed and resteemed :)

Thank you so much!!! Nice connecting with you :)

Cheers to truth and authenticity... Perfect.

haha yes cheers to real things in life ;)

Sorry for the late reply... : ) Cheers to getting back on steemit... My mac packed in... i still need to get a new one. : ) Namaste.

I appreciate your choice to feel the Ra Raw moments in all the now.

Thank you! My life can get very intense at times but so worth it :)

Love at full volume is more interesting the contrast of our life is like the under painting we choose how to finish the painting.

Thanks for this, I also don't drink alcohol anymore, It has been the best decision of my life, I find I am so much more present and just so much happier. In social situations sometimes I find it difficult, but any awkward feelings soon dissapear and I enjoy myself with some water or cola.

I just came across your blog and loved looking at your posts. Will give you a follow :)

I am happy to hear that you are on the same path and it has made your life better :) I just followed you too, I would love to visit Cape town some day, great post :)

Very eloquently spelled out! I also don't drink alcohol except for very special occasions, and I never really liked it that much. Engaging in real and deep conversation was always more appealing to me even during college when most of my friends were boozing it up. Thanks for sharing!

That's wonderful to hear that you had a strong mind on your own even during the college times :) Cheers to real deep conversations :)

Love this post. People love to numb the pain of the world. Truth is pain is the best trigger for growth. You feel the emotions at a raw form. Numbing the pain only just masks the pain for another day, rather than treating the pain through learning ones mistakes, individuals will pick up the bottle and run from it. Only the brave will understand.
Dope post!

Thank you so much! :) Yes, exactly as you say - pain is the best trigger for growth, what a different world it could be if people could just learn to embrace their emotions.

Congratulations @ilze! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 62134.65
ETH 3418.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51