The eye opener

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Source
"Let's go on a date", she pleaded with me
However, I would not oblige
I was as busy as a bee
"Please, stay back for breakfast", she cried
But I wouldn't heed her words
Afterall, I had a bus to catch
She ensured that all my laundry was done
She ensured my dinner was hot
And she ensured my home was clean
But all she did, I did not value
Afterall, she was in no way different from the other girls
I saw her as nothing other than a toy
A toy for me to discard when I was done with her.
"I surely can't fall in love", I convinced myself
"Only fools fall in love" is what I told myself
I was sure of that and felt proud of myself
One day, I received a call to identify a body
It was the body of my partner, she had been shot by a thug
My return to my house really made me distressful
For the house was empty and was void of life
I cried, I screamed and cursed at the death of my lover
Everything she did and I regarded as inconsequential
Had planted in me things I could not fathom
I thought I could not love but here I am heartbroken

Sort:  

Good tribute
Folowing

Nice poem, I guess that should teach you to value true love when you see it.

Nice poem
We never value what we have until we lose them

Nice piece!

Upvoted and followed!

Wow, this is huge. I love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54