Steemit rewards different prioritization

in #life8 years ago

18 hour days are WORK

even in front of a computer screen - without me telling you what I do.

My parents call me lazy. Other students got to work while studying. I’m sitting in my room most of my time. In front of my computer.

What do I do to earn any money? Don’t you want to be on your own feet and not rely on your parents?

You don’t know what work is. Real work. When I was your age I used to work three jobs.

That’s unfortunate. For you. We are living through the biggest cultural shift since the industrialization.

With Steemit and such it’s even a shift within the revolution of the internet itself. Hope this sentence makes sense.

But I do work. Just… in a different way.

See if I don’t want to waste my time working minimum wage there’s a good reason behind it.

Most student jobs don’t serve any purpose besides making money.

I worked those jobs. If you’re smart you save the money you earn so you can get out of that rabbit hole.

But what do I know I still live at home. Well I’m only 20 years old though.

I agree. Some students have to work in order to move to a different city to attend uni, pay for their apartment, food. I get it.

That is not what this post is about.

This is about how Steemit rewards different prioritization.

See, when people ask me why I don’t get a real job, the answer is quite simple.

Investing in myself is work.

Don’t let anybody tell you reading is not work. It’s the most important work. That and knowing yourself. Or getting to know yourself. Well you get what I mean.

Growing as a person. Requires work.

Secondly. There is this thing called the internet. Utilizing it to make money is a pretty smart decision in my eyes.
In some ways, sitting in front of a computer screen is what a lot of people consider “work”.

Assumptions about what I do and calling it lazy doesn’t change what I’m doing.

There are far more important things to do than work minimum wage. Under certain circumstances.

If you focus on the important stuff it will play out in the long run.

Like it does for some on Steemit now.

So, you used your free-time to immerse yourself in a topic. You practiced arts. Learned how to draw. Play an instrument. Maybe started a business.

Now the magic happens.

You can share your experiences on Steemit. And Steemit will reward your previous efforts.

Steemit helps you reap the benefits of your long-term, unpaid for work.

Great right?

So, what do students do with their money once they paid their rent and food?

Party? Buy stuff they don’t need?

Whatever it is there is a better use for that money. And the rest of their time.

Certain investments simply have a higher ROI.

Educating yourself and seeking knowledge pays a better interest than simply working some student job with the intention of buying a new iPhone.

I know a ton of students who get support from their parents.

Some appreciate it and say it helps them focus more on the important stuff which is their studying. But others just waste their free time.

Don’t belong to the latter category.

Of course, we are extremely lucky that Steemit came around. But there’s an overall trend that preparation and work pays off.

You are defined by what you do when no one is watching.

I was lucky. I’m still able to live at home and kind of enjoy the “lazy student life”. I don’t though. I put in work. Just not in the way of how other people would define the classical student work.

That’s not a bad thing. Different does not mean bad. Just because some people don’t understand it doesn’t make it wrong or bad.

I hope you can share your passion, thoughts, experience on Steemit and get something in return as well.

Not saying that I’m already making life changing amounts of money and will never have to work again. But slowly and steady with the growth of Steemit there is more to come.

Stay awesome and don’t fail to create!

Sort:  

Love the motto, "Stay awesome and don't fail to create!" But we have a huge oppurtunity being some of the first people on steemit. Good luck

I agree with you. You, yourself is an opportunity waiting to happen. Push yourself to work for yourself and you will be rewarded. I see many people working for others and being miserable because they earn 10% of the person they are working for. Work for yourself and earn 100%, that is the way to go.

you will hit a wall where you question yourself.. where the hell did I waste all my time.... at this point it's too late. Take a breather and get away from the computer

-G.I. Joe

You are in the right path mate, well put!

Even though I don't believe in any bright future for steem and my posts never make a cent, I do agree that time spent fiddling with steem is well spent.
It's a social, economic and technical experiment. You can learn about people, their motives, think and talk about algorithms and incentives, improve your writing and a lot more. More important than doing any 9-5 job or whatever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54506.20
ETH 2881.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03