The Way it Works Sometimes

in #life7 years ago

The Song.

When I first heard it, I was alone in my bedroom in my parent's flat in London late at night, and it came on the radio.

I can't remember why I was back there; I'd moved out by that point, become a proper adult, had my own front door...that I shared with 3 other mates but that's beside the point. The point was freedom!

I did use to stay at home over Christmas though so it may have been one of those occasions.

I don't recall.

I do recall that I was, ahem, between loves at the time. I must have been growing up at that point because it was taking a little longer than normal to get over the past one and start anticipating the next one. It felt like trying to find 'reverse' on a bicycle.

The Song came on, in complete contrast to what had been played before, and took me away...

Speaking to something within, it somehow spoke of hope, and took me to wondrous places; where I lived other lives, dreamed other dreams, and saw other sights.

So I keep listening to it. Trying to rekindle those flights.

Yet now...when I hear it, it mainly takes me back to that bedroom in London.


Oh!...and here's the song. In case you were curious.

Love,

Ikem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61787.88
ETH 2991.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48