"Why Judge?"

in #life8 years ago


So today, a thought came to me. "Why do people judge gays? Whats so wrong with them?"
I came to the realization that many people "hate" gays. But the biggest question is why?

So ever since I was little and before that. There has been gays. They have been scared to be open about it. But nowadays gays can kinda freely be gay. But they still get judged for being the way that they are. I don't understand that. Really I don't! Here's a little story. When I was little maybe 6 or 7. I lived in Tulsa, Oklahoma. So my mom had a friend, he would come over our house and talk with my parents. You know, what most parents do with their friends. The only thing is he was gay, that was my first time ever being around and or meeting a gay person. Matter of fact, ever even hearing about gay. They told me what gay was and I gladly accepted the fact that he was attracted to his gender.
Now back to present day.
I have personally thought of gays exactly the way I think of straight people. Which is..if you like the same gender that's fine. It doesn't affect me in anyway, shape or form. I am not gay, but I don't mind being friends with people like that. I just think that people have really misunderstood them. In a-lot of ways.

  1. People think gays are gross.
  2. All they want to talk or do is stuff that has to do with being gay. (ex. drag queen races or pride runs)
    Those are just two ways I feel they have been misunderstood. They aren't those things, and you might ask how do you know that.
    Well, I have lived next to a house of gays. They moved in to the house right next to me and my family, on the exact same day. Cool, right? We became good friends with them. I have even had a converstation with them. They did this role-play thing. Where you could build and design your costume for the battle and you could make up a character or be one. They also did this walking dead type of thing. Where you got to camp out on the mountain and zombies would attack. They even were going to have a stand at comic-con.
    These were gay people. They are actually one of the nicest people I have ever met. Even though they were gay, they understood that my family was straight. All of them still wanted to be friends and hang out. They never judged us for being straight. For not being gay.
    So back to that question. "Why do people judge gays?"
    I don't know why people judge them. There is nothing wrong with having a gay or lesbian friend. I actually feel people should have gay or lesbian friends because they always seem to understand. Not saying that straight people don't. I just find that gays have been through so much in there life that they can understand you. That's just my personal opinion. You tell me your thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42