You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm English, But I Speak With A Foreign Accent

in #life6 years ago

Such a balanced and thought provoking article. Quite insightful I must say. Personally I'm so taken with different accents all around me in Dubai and I wish I had some sort of an accent too haha Its nature vs nurture so yes its understandable that people absorb from their environment. I don't know why people would make such a big deal out of it. My niece is born in Pakistan but used to watch Youtube in her first thee years of life and when she started speaking she had a British accent! We all were so surprised since none of us have any accent whatsoever. She just picked it up from British cartoons on Youtube.

Sort:  

Hi! Thank you so much for reading and commenting. I'm also glad you enjoyed my article :)

That's very interesting about your niece! I think exposure to accents, especially when young and learning a language can really help you to sound more like a native speaker! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66924.38
ETH 3111.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75