Why Most Minnows Fail at Steemit!

in #life7 years ago

I've seen a lot of minnows joining us at the @minnowsupport project, go through the sign up process, make one post, and then promptly throw their hands up in frustration. I never see them again, so distraught are they that the free steemit money didn't wash over them instantly.

IMG_2730.PNG

To put it bluntly, they failed. No real value is created in your one post about Malaysian basket weaving or the lost intricacies of the underground corn trade.

Failure is what many of us live in fear of our whole lives. Fear that what we make won’t be any good. Fear that even if it is good, no one will care. Or even worse, WE won’t care about it ourselves.

Despite the amount of fear and power that failure wields over us, it has surprisingly blunt teeth. when failure comes, rarely does it come with a serious impact beyond our own fabricated guilt. We fear that the world will crash on us and we will be punished for our lack of success, yet when the day comes, not much changes.

In fact, case in point: I was writing three times every week, and then I stopped. I haven't written in months. I anguished over this. I beat myself up, and even used the words “a useless garbage person” to describe how I felt about myself to my wife. Yet, here I am. No real change. No one chastising me except myself.

“She’s torn up plenty, but she’ll fly true.” — Zoe Washburne

And that’s about the way it goes most of the time. I set a goal. I do well at it for a bit, and I stop. I see this stopping as a failure, murder myself about the obviously intense pain I deserve for this failure, and that crushing guilt stops me from even trying again. I think this is true for many out there who strive to improve, create, or share themselves in an honest way: for the artist.

What this article proves is that the only way to fail is to stop doing whatever it is that you were trying. I stopped. Now I start again, months late but still flying.
Failure is stopping.

Just restart. Let every day be a great time to start again.

As long as you can drag yourself back, you win.

As long as you can stop punishing yourself for imagined deadlines, you win.

As long as you can realize that failure is just a empty way to refer to our own fear, you win.

So get winning.


IMG_2673.PNG

Sort:  

We are our own worst enemy sometimes! Mindset is literally everything.

Yeah, we all experienced failures, I did too. My early post even did not get a payout, but now it's getting better and better

Expectations without confirmations are the epitome of the world failure. I have been on every social media platform and never made a dime. I came to steemit with the mindset that anything is better than nothing & so far I've seen more here in 1 day than years of Facebook, MySpace, Instagram or any of the others. Steem Me Up Scotty lol

Haha, love the word play. Yeah, I used medium for months and got nowhere fast. 4 days on Steemit and I'm in love AND being paid!

never was a social media person, been on fakebook 14(?) yrs, mostly to keep in touch w/ family. never made a penny,for any of my use on it.
I love this place,been on my computer more in the last two month ,than probly the last two yrs!
actual learning how to use it,for something other than e-mail..

good post @idm1dm !
I say don't worry about the $$ make friends ,learn and get an occasional tip! if you want to post do it for fun!,and to share your knowledge,self or whatever makes you happy! then the $$ is bonus!
Namaste!

Great words. I think a big part of the value created in posts, comes from the interactions between and afterwards. When I first started posting I was counting connections, not post payout. I still value connections more than post payout. They payout is just a side effect! Regardless. Glad your back, its nice to meet you sir!

Absolutely, it's why I used to love Reddit. Being able to read an article or watch something then get all these different opinions and takes on it in the comments. Glad to meet (and follow!) you too!

I can certainly identify with the feeling of failure. I wrote my first Steemit post yesterday, and it went down like a led balloon! But I won't give up! Thanks for sharing @iddm1dm

Same here bud. iddm1dm was the first person I know who actually read my article and provided feedback. It's now earnt over $8. I was lucky to catch the eye of a whale.

Don't give up. Keep adding value in the comments until you build up a decent followership and then dripfeed quality content. Combine that with reading tip articles aimed at minnows. Quality over quantity wins in the end.

Well this comment got me to go read it and upvote it. So there's my literal 2 cents! Keep at it, friend.

Steem on!🙂

Well put @iddm1dm!
But what is wrong with "Underground corn trade"?? Such an interesting and intriguing topic. ;)

... who told you about the underground corn trade?!

Thank you for the read and vote, @danielsaori 😃

One of the best posts on this I've ever read. Good work. And yeah, I was one of those people that was frustrated, and I dragged myself back, and now...well, now I don't know. I like the community and I love the concept. And I think I'd like to make a contribution over the long haul. Can't say more than that.

That's all anyone really can say, in the end. If you rent to really contribute, them you gotta keep at it. And if you stop again, remember that victory is just one restart away.

I will. I'm glad I met you.

Great post keep the content coming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57676.72
ETH 2356.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39