A true story of Lies and Deceit in the workplace to get you Promoted

in #life8 years ago (edited)

This is not just a story as this story is real , factually correct and actually happened a few years ago.

The lady in this story we will call “Anne “but that is not her real name for obvious reasons as you will soon find out.

I was working as a Sales Manager and had done for many years and Anne was working in a different depot to me as a member of the admin team. She then started seeing one my Territory Managers and within a year they got married.

I had my doubts about this relationship, however they initially seemed very happy so all was good so why should I be concerned.

Well I became concerned as she was appointed into my depot into the transport department with no experience of transport under the direction and instruction of our of the Directors to whom I reported too.

When I asked the question on her appointment I was told that she wanted to train to become a Depot Manager and was also going to carry out secretarial duties for the depot . I could not question my Directors decision , however as no job was ever advertised I did find this quite odd.

Approximately after about 6 months I was asked to come into the directors office one Monday morning and discuss one of my territory managers performance which you can guess was Tim. Not his real name I may add but changed for obvious reasons.

I was basically told that I had to get rid of him and start disciplinary procedures with immediate effect. I informed the Director that his performance was not in question and was he aware that he was married to Anne who reported to him.

He then said to me that he had discussed this matter with Anne and she would send out a letter outling his performance issues. I was also told that they were having marital difficulties and that Anne would understand.

I came away from this meeting thinking that I have to dismiss someone that I have not performance managed and that his own wife was to draft the letter to her own husband.

Thankfully within a few weeks Tim resigned saying he had found another position and told me that his wife and himself were to split up.

After a few months went by and at one of our monthly meetings we reviewed our profit and loss accounts which was broken down in detail by department.

I had seen a bonus payment of £1000.00 in transport, yet no explanation or justification as to why the payment was made. Further discussion on the subject was quickly glossed over and I left the meeting knowing that this was totally wrong but my word against a Directors word would not count for anything.

A further few months went by and then I heard stories that Anne was having an affair with the Director.

I was told by my colleagues that this had been going on for quite some length of time and they were very surprised that I did not know.

How naive was I. What an idiot idiot not to have put two and two together when it was clearly staring me in the face.

Through this corrupt Director he had appointed a person and over promoted Anne purely because of his rank .

Anne went on to become a Depot Manager which she always wanted to achieve, however she would never have any credibility or respect from all of her previous colleagues or her present colleagues, as they all knew how she had really gained these positions.

Ironically she is now the General Manager where she first started and could not even balance the daily cash returns without making a mistake.

Recently I heard that the Director whom I am referring to managed to stay in the business without ever being found out and has since retired with a lump sum for many years service.

Just goes to show that Lies, Deceit and total dishonesty from two people can prevail in the workplace.

Gifs Courtesy of Giphy

Sort:  

Well written.I have known of several similar incidents and actually wrote Lyrics for one where the end is a bit more tragic https://steemit.com/lyrics/@awgbibb/true-love

Many thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80