Kids like it when they are home

in #life6 years ago

"No child should grow up alone."
This phrase truly inspired me. It melted my heart as I say this to myself all over again. I'm really awed and amazed by this institution who brought up kids and provide them the support that they need. It's not about because you're an orphan then you're made to feel like one but no this community is different. They treat each member as part of the family. They work, have fun, and enjoy as if without boundaries and borders.

IMG_20180317_100909.jpg

This particular scenario touched my heart:
IMG_20180317_143113.jpgIMG_20180317_104012.jpg

As volunteers, we came here to do our community engagement and it's beyond pleasure to see the smiles in the eyes and lips of these kids. They are all very welcoming and you would instantly feel at ease with them.

IMG_20180317_135541.jpg

Almost all of them are active and are really 'go' with games. Some of them showcased their talents through dancing and singing. We, volunteers, got to know more of them as we sing along together. You could hear the laughs, jokes and teases filled with love as it erupts from their mouth truly from a kid's heart.

What impacted me the most is when a kid asked for chicken, it was lunch time that time, and he has already eaten his part of the meal but he came back saying "Gusto pa nkog manok te, hatag" (I still want chicken please give me). At first I was really reluctant firstly because he has already partake his part, second because most of the team or us haven't eaten yet and I was thinking that we could eat the left chickens. Third, because some kid may be asking for more just like him and ends up insatiable. But this kid did not stop at one cue after telling him that "I'd really want to give you one but most of us haven't eaten yet, is it okay that if there are still some chicken left then I'll immediately give it to you?" I asked with full of conviction. He agreed but after 3 minutes, he came back wanting the same thing, still, I told him to wait. After 3-4 returns, I decided that I don't want to be selfish and inconsiderate so I gave him the chicken and as predicted other kids followed him. I scolded myself for not giving it right away. I told myself that the food is meant for them. But what I wanted to highlight most is the persistence that prevailed on him, the kid.

IMG_20180317_153810.jpg

He knew what he wanted. Let's be like a kid again. Someone who's persistent enough to never give up over dreams.IMG_20180317_120759.jpg

Sort:  

A kind of woman that beauty glows inside out :)

Thanks 🤗

You have a good heart. Keep it up.

SOS. I went to the kindergarten school adjacent to that institution, and have some dear classmates who were taken cared of there. This orphanage helped a lot of kids. Growing up with orphans made me realize that sometimes life is unfair, but it's the attitude that counts at the end of the day. Most of them have a good heart and are grateful for the kindness the orphanage gave them. 😊😊

Thank you for sharing this. It brings back good, old memories. 😊😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56697.29
ETH 2390.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29