Gratitude to the Sons of Adam

in #life6 years ago (edited)

creation-of-adam-michelangelo-buonarroti.jpg
The Creation of Adam by Michelangelo
© fineartamerica.com

I never thought I would write about men. I guess meeting a man different from all the other men I’ve been friends with changed that. I suddenly found a new appreciation to all the sons of Adam. I’ve always been surrounded by great, kind-hearted and respectful men.

I was placed in an awkward situation where I needed to confront a man I barely know to stop touching me. I’ve read Gary Chapman’s Five Love Languages and I understand that some people use touch to communicate or show affection. However, this should be used with caution. Not everyone appreciates this kind of love language, and in some circumstances and casual relationships it is wise not to use this in communicating warmth.

For the first time, simple unwelcome touches made me feel disrespected, devalued, sad and eventually angry. I felt that my personal space was invaded by a stranger. I have never been the confrontational type, but when flinching didn’t work I had no choice but to be direct.

While thinking the situation through and assessing my emotional state I just realized that the men I met in the past treated me well. I was always treated with respect. Thus, the sudden deviation disturbed my peace.

I would like to take this time to thank the men in my life who’ve always been respectful of the emotional and physical boundaries I have. Thank you to some men who brought out the best in me. Thanks for giving me a different perspective. You made me stronger by helping me see the less emotional perspective of a situation.

My father and brother will always be on top of the list of the men I’m grateful for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53