THE POWER OF POETRY

in #life7 years ago (edited)

We all feel a little down at times and we are often unsure about what we can do to make ourselves feel better.

I have not always found comfort in loads of things but I found one way of making myself look at the things I feel in a different, more abstract way simply by writing.

I found poetry the best, why? Not only because it seems to be the more "obvious" option but because you can write down the feelings that you can't usually explain conventionally in ways that can make people understand without really going through what you are going through.

I have really fell in love with writing (not that I am at all good with it, but that is not what matters to me).

It is beautiful how much clearer the solutions to problems become by just writing about what you feel and even just writing about things that make you feel good about yourself.

Whether you write in your journal for yourself only or try to inspire others by sharing your thoughts with the public (sort of like I am doing now I suppose), writing is really one of the most beautiful forms of self-expression!

I want to share something that I wrote that really made me pick myself up while I was in a bad place.

The reason I still try.

By camron Botha, mbabane, Swaziland

When thoughts full of sorrow pass through your head..
How to deal with it is harder done than said.
Life has its ups and downs, filled with smiles and frowns but a broken heart is hard to mend..
No matter how much time you spend, on me a broken being Because nothing in this world is worth while..worth seeing.
But I will try to change.
Will try to heal.
I will even try to change the way I feel!
So i sit here as, my eyes filled with tears..
Still waiting patiently as the moment nears.
For the moment I become strong, for the moment I won't want to die.
That's the reason I am still here..
The reason I still try.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63802.69
ETH 3413.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55