I was having the most delicious dream....and then, wheeeeeeeee!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The fire alarm started screaming like an angry banshee.

I was deep in the alpha...maybe even rising through delta on the way to that semi conscious dream state when the mechanical meanie started screaming it's head off.

Funnily enough, I could hear the rest of the building already running around the halls on the second floor of the two story building.

I wasn't moving too fast even though some of the things I heard in between pushing the two little metal prongs that silenced my own "personal" room alarm that is standard in all multi-unit dwellings went like:

"I smell rubber!"

"What the fuck"

Man, I wonder were "fucking, fuck fuck, the fuck" is.

That last one was me wondering where the guy was that has only the word "fuck" as the mainstay in his vocabulary.

Anyway, unlike the last time, there was a bit of smoke ... So I just grabbed my old, fracked ipad, slipped on my camo shorts, donned my prized blue hoodie and a few other bits and pieces that I just couldn't bear to lose, like my dear antler multi-bushcraft tool my dad gave me for Xmas a few years back

See, I live in an area where, well, fire alarms get pulled more than usual.

Plus, it was "cheque day" a few days back, and all the addicts in the building had been jumping like Mexican beans for two days now...and there have been the usual "midnight bandits" over visiting for about the same amount of time.

Maybe one of the boys didn't have any treats left and it was one of the delectable ladies of the night that decided to give them one last reminder of how bad they performed on only one moonrock of garbage fentanyl laced crack.

Anyway, I grabbed my bike and walked out the door.

Yep, a bit of smoke was in the air at the end of the hall.

No fire.

One of the other tenants is wandering down the hall feeling doors and, I pick up my bike by the bottom frame tube and carry it down to street level.

Of the twenty or so tenants, there are exactly 5 standing around outside.

The one guy, who I have actually talked too a few times in the two months I've been at the place just shakes his head and says he was fast asleep too.

I just laughed, got on my bike and he said "have a good day bud!"

Yes, I will...and I said that to him with a laugh as I rode off into the cool 5 am air.

And, here I am, at McDonald's....drinking my free coffee and still smiling, because, hey, at least I know I most likely won't have to live at my moms like the nice man who gave me the free coffee.

His apartment is going to take two - three months to be gutted and rebuilt.

It had half the roof ripped of in the storm a couple months back and he and his wife are staying at relatives.

See, I was laughing about the situation halfway down the hill to the Main drag on my way here.

There really is no reason to having a frown, unless it's upside down.

That's a smile bud.

:)

Pretty much everything happens for a reason, and now I know another person with a positive attitude in this town, maybe I'll make a few pence for this post, and I'm halfway to the gym....or maybe I'll go and watch the sunrise.

Have a better and better day in every way...

E-GO 2018image.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56