Stay Safe by Riding Defensively

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Taking a defensive posture while riding a sportbike is a wise choice to keep you safe. The operation requires 100% attention and intense concentration compared to operating an automobile. You must balance your ride while throwing it left and right to navigate turns. A wrong choice can place your life in peril. The following video clip shows a sportbike riding through some twisty turns.

My son humorously shows how proper lane position is essential when navigating blind corners. When you cannot see through the corner, it is always the safest to stay to the outside of your lane and away from the middle.
Enjoy the ride!

Sort:  

That reminds me, my mobility scooter needs charging... :o(

Get it out and I will race you. Won't be long and I will need one of those. I will pull the electric motor and put my zx10r engine under the mobility seat. It will be a crazy ride.

John Wick wouldn't have done it any better than your son, lol.

Damn smasssh, I love your humor. Thanks for saying so. I am on the lookout for JW/KR always now. I do know the shop he hangs at but just can't afford one of his custom bikes. I can't even afford to look at one, lol.

Hahaha.
I've just read that the release of JW, Chapter 3 , will be may 16th this year, so be patient man.

never outrun your ability to stop.

Very wise advice, Everitt. No disrespect meant for truckers as shown in the video as I know you are one. We thought the truck driver in the video did an excellent job of doing a tight turn barely going over the center line. A lazy turn could easily used both lanes. We rarely see big trucks on these roads because of the tight turns. They just use bigger, wider, straighter roads to get there. Tight turns and twisties is where sportbikes play.

the trucker likely had no choice. He had to swing wide to prevent his trailer tires from riding up on the side of the mountain. If that happened the truck would likely flip.
I agree about keeping big truck off of small, twisty roads.
Not sure how that can be arranged.
Folks on the other end of those roads. Silverton Colorado comes to mind, kinda like to have 'stuff' too.
If you got it...a truck brought it.

00V0V_hRhu6YCuVaD_600x450.jpg

Love my bike. Can't wait to ride it for sure! Keep it safe and watch those corners for sure!

Is that a Honda Grom? Or a look-a-like? They are fun as hell and there are Grom clubs popping up all over because they are such fun to ride and play around on. Nice bike sir!

Kawasaki z125 pro. With mods. And faster than a from as well as a higher top speed.

And the funnest now just to modify the cycle rack for my van!

I rode Hondas at first but have been a Kawasaki man since 1976. I have my 1976 KZ900 on my back patio. I ride a black 2004 ZX10R and my son has a green 2007 ZX10R. I like fuel injected bikes as carbureters plug up with the alcohol in our fuel these days. I saw the z125 on the Kawi website my last visit there.

They have a super low resell price. You can totally score one for 1/3 the new price. Mine has 1100 miles!

There is a reason why the resell price is so low. Most people beat the crap out of these little bikes so buying used is very risky and the price is low. People buy new to ensure it isn't beat up.

Oh this one was babied without a scratch. But I totally understand. And a warrenty

Good reminder! Will be a few months now before I get back out. WAY too cold around here!

I am really lucky to be able to ride the entire year with no snow. Cold is ok but the main thing needed is traction which disappears when snow falls. In most areas bikes get put up for 3 months over winter.

I liked the semi-surprise...

I took my truck on some pretty twisty roads too...

Yeah, that is the best part. I have watched this a few dozen times. lol.

Nice exhilarating ride as long as you stay out of the grill of trucks.

That is really a nice way of stating the riding mission so thanks very much, bladefire!
By the way, bugs have the same mission to stay out of my teeth.

What? No wheelies?

Not right now cause those are later. They are really hard on front forks so must be set down easy with power. If you just chop the throttle, it will bang down hard bend things. Is best to use an old bike you don't care about for stunts.

On a bike everyone is out to kill ya. Never assume anything and always be looking for an out. Ride to arrive alive.

Everything you stated is sooo true. A high percentage of bike accidents is where the car pulls out in front of the bike's path and just sits there looking as the bike hits their car at high speed. This usually kills the biker. The next thoughts are from the car driver, 'Did I do that?'. No more thoughts from the biker.
I have been riding motorcycles for 50 years and still here so I must be doing something right.

Congratulations @hunnybadger! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64