Wide Awake

in #life7 years ago

It is past 4:00 in the morning and I am wide awake.!

Eyes are wide open staring up the ceiling while thoughts randomly playing in my head.

I couldn't turn off the orchestral sound of the crickets in my sorroundings collaborating with the threatenings sound of the tick tock clock.

Counted more than a million sheeps including the other animals in the barn but I still couldn't knocked myself down to sleep.

Wondering why my brain is completely on and I can't find the button to turn it off. Eyes are starting to feel heavy and my brain consistenly pounding.

Crashing, breaking, very upsetting night for me probably this is the price of being too busy in life chasing dreams without a clear plan.

Good morning to everyone and still catching for a gooodnight.

Sort:  

HAHAHA I had the same night.... :)

Mindfulness breathing always helps me sleep.

Basically, start by finding a slow, deep, but above all natural and not forced breathing pattern. Count how long your in breadth is and out, and pay attention until each in is the same count and each out is the same count (as the other outs, doesn't need to be and often isn't the same as the in count).

Once you have a rhythm and count, just keep it going until you're asleep. Works much better than counting imaginary animals because conscious breadth control lower blood pressure and is calming, and steady deep breathing rhythms are more natural for sleeping.

If thoughts arise and crowd out your count, dont get upset or break rhythm - calming accept and observe the chaos of thoughts without judgement or attachment. As the Zen say, let thoughts float by as light and natural as clouds...then go back to counting on the next inhale or exhale.

I have had problems snoring in the past, and alternated between day and night jobs and had a lot of difficulty sleeping for years, and the meditative tip above solved all those problems for me.

I hope it is of help to you too! Good luck and namaste (i honor the divine in you)!

Wow, this is nice! Thank you for sharing...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57606.89
ETH 3164.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28