360 Encouragement: What's Fear & Excuses Got To Do With It?

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Watch On DTube

Reasons Not To Post This Video

This video is old. It's incomplete. I don't think I did a great job of articulating my point. So goes the many reasons why I could've refrained from even considering to post this today. Well I went ahead anyway and put this out for the world to see. I had no clue when I recorded this video some time ago that I would eventually use it to make a stern point about finding all the excuses in the world to not go forward with an idea you have. Of course we all make excuses. No one is exempt from that but the difference is between those who make them a habit and allow excuses to hold them back and those that say I could care less and move forward anyway. No matter what your flaws or inadequacies are you have to put your ideas out into the world. Sure you may not be the best this or that. So what? You may not have the skills to do this or that. So what? Be bold, be brave, and learn to eat excuses for breakfast. Right now you have time. Use it to do what's on your mind. Peace. 

Have you ever made an excuse that you later regretted?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

@humanearl,

Have you ever made an excuse that you later regretted?

Yep I had. I regretted about I was made bad mistakes my past life. So I missed lot of opportunities for go longer. But with ma bad errors I failed lot. Currently I'm in better place in my life. But remember my past maybe.

@humanearl I totally agree with you. I have always said "What is the one thing that stops you from doing something that you really want to do? FEAR!!" If you like I girl and don't talk to her for example.. Why don't you? You are afraid she will say "No." It is true with just about anything. I just used that as a common example. GREAT Post man whether it was finished or not.

Over the years, I've come to learn that excuses are a basic human response to changes in our situation. When something happens that we're not expecting, we make excuses. That exam you failed? That business opportunity you lost? That divorce? But it's worth noting that excuses only make us seem weak and immature. Making excuses is the equivalent of blaming someone for our mistakes.
The only way to gain experience is to own up to our mistakes and accept our flaws. Making it a habit is unhealthy.

I'm glad to see your still encouraging people to overcome their fears. You were a key reason that I moved from just commenting to posting almost daily. I just went the flow and ended up writing poems. I hadn't written since high school, before joining Steemit.

While they probably weren't the best poems, they were the best I had at the time. Overtime they have improved. I actually enjoy writing them. So, listen to @humanearl, he is spot on when he say just do it. You never know how it will work out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23