The Greatest Birthday Gift

in #life7 years ago

It was my 45th Birthday today (I still refuse to slow down or act my age) and I was delighted to receive some Bitcoin as a present along with some good books, hot sauces, beard oils and a night out, but the greatest gift was something simple

IMG_20180106_171108_1.jpg

My girlfriend's sons, who I have been a guardian of for 6 years, gave me my first step-dad card.

In life we have many roles.

Son, brother, nephew and boyfriend, but being a step dad is both difficult and special. I can not and will not ever try to replace their father, but I want to be a positive role model and someone that they can trust, depend on, respect and love.

Yes, we have our moments when my authoritarian nature and their rebellious natures clash, but I am so happy to see them grow, mature (eldest is now a teenager) and develop their own personalities. I look forward to remaining a part of their lives, even if that means just casting a watchful and caring eye over them and hopefully taking them on some European football trips (their teams are PSG, Arsenal, Barcelona and Borussia Dortmund).

They might not be my biological children, but the are my boys and I truly love them with all of my heart.

Sort:  

Happy Birthday!!

A wonderful step dad am sure you are 😊

And some bitcoins huh, how awesome 😉

Have a great one 👍

Thank you. I should have said a bit of a bitcoin (I wasn't THAT lucky). It has been a lovely day

This is the sweetest thing I've seen all day. Happiest of birthdays and I hope you guys can see a football game soon (I'm an Arsenal fan being based in London!)

Hiya Eileen and welcome to Steemit (you were validated quickly) and thanks for the kind words.

Bahaha I didn't even see this was you Stephen - I was just going through the feed! Even more exciting and special!

Hahaha....wonder who else is here?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89