Things, Things Everywhere - IT MUST ALL GO! (How to Declutter)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

things.jpg

Things, things everywhere on the floor, stored away in boxes, on the calendar, in my head. It is a constant war of finding and doing what is important. It's the difference between being distracted or focused.


source

I try to be a kind and loving person, whatever arrows are thrown my way. That is my core. I will not allow that to be shaken, even if it makes me feel shit sometimes. All my goals have love at their core, including love for myself, which is my mission at the moment, so I can give more and not live from check to check, so the blinkers are actually over my eyes, rather than around my ankles at the moment.

So one of the steps I need to take to show myself self love is to get rid of things, knick-knacks, memories physical and mental to make life more simple again.

In other words, I need to declutter everything. EVERYTHING! (Except my almost non-existant social life)

Decluttering the House

So this is my plan for the next week...

Go through one area in the flat at a time bagging up the things that I no longer need or want, so can give to charity shops. I have a cupboard/bookshelf in the corner in the living room and it does my head in looking at it and all the stuff on it, that is my starting place, next is the bureau where I do my work.

The aim is that I will end up with things I like to look at and appreciate. And not piles of paper and books that will never be read again. I have hundreds of books, it is ridiculous!


source

I will also use the KonMari method of going through everything physical and asking yourself "Do I love this?". If the answer is not a resounding yes, I will get rid of it.

Then I am going to do it again...

Until I have a handful of things left. If it is my ex-husbands, I will pack it up and put it up in the loft, not an ideal situation, but I'm not going to be a bitch and throw all his stuff away. He will get somewhere to live at some point and I'll send it all to him to deal with.

Then FINALLY it will be easy to tidy up. And then I can have more time to write for Steemit full times during the day to make enough to pay off my debts. Maybe have time to do some crafts in the evening for fun (and make late Christmas presents).

When the debts are paid, I will allow myself to make more plans and add lots of new and exciting experiences to mine and the girl's lives. My daughter's latest request is she wants to learn show jumping - darn Cbeebies!

Decluttering Calendars and Out and About

I already turn the internet off my phone when I go out, as it is good to have some downtime. To be honest, I usually ignore it if rings or get a text, but I do check in case it is from the school. If it important, they can leave a message and if its important to me, I might ring them back.

Now decluttering the calendar I am not so prepared to do, as some evenings have girls dance lessons and other activities.


source

I've signed up to a couple of self help groups, which just help me get out the house and be useful to other people, as I have done so many I know the courses inside out and my advice goes down quite well, but it is good just be around good people for a bit, particularly Helen and Gary (I will convince you two to get on Steemit).

Another good thing about these groups is there is no small talk and gossip, we just bond in the common emotions of humanity. I think I've signed up for one starting on the 4th January, then another one later in the month.

So no decluttering there, as it what keeps me sane. This is my life outside the kids and Steemit - treasured moments, with strangers for the most part, but never mind it is what it is.

Decluttering MY Mind

How much junk do you think is in your brain?

I'm sure we all have the running list of things we should do, the mental shopping list, ideas (too many for a lifetime), what to cook, there is something going on all the time up there and that takes up brainpower.

So every now and again, take a brain dump!

Get a piece of paper. Write it all out. Or type out everything that pops into your head.

From the book, you would like to read next, to a meeting you have scheduled, what to cook for dinner...

Let it be a right old exercise in stream of conscious or freewriting and don't edit it, judge it, or organize it. All of that can be done after. Just get it out of your head.

I do this sometimes to get negative feelings outside my head by writing poetry. It works for me, although as with anything, it won't work for everyone.

So to me, this also makes sense to declutter in this way as well. Worth a shot. It might actually help me be less forgetful.

Conclusion

Decluttering is not the easiest thing to do, but it will make things more simple, particularly on the physical front. I am doing it with the mindset of what I would (want to) take if there was a fire in the home (if it happened I would get kids and me out, sod stuff). I am deadly serious about sorting this aspect of my life out, as it makes me so tired looking at all. It will be good to be able to look around the flat and smile.

I will be revisiting this subject, with before and after photos.

(Of the rooms, I can't take picture of my mind, thankfully)

separator.png

Lines to Live by

I love my life.
I am beautiful.
I am powerful.
I am free.
I love my life
I am wonderful.
I am magical.
I am me.

Lyrics by Robbie Williams

separator.png

More followers and upvotes: Steemfollower
Free daily crypto, that if it takes off we'll all be laughing: Swift Coins
Where bitcoin becomes real hard cash: Wirex App

Sort:  

Smiling. Hi Hope. So If I try the KonMari method with my 'other' and I don't get a resounding yes.. can I give him away? Grinning now.
J.

That made me grin too. Maybe the resounding 'yes' should have a percentage attached to it. Less than 60% resounding yes and its the door? I've missed you.

I'm around... loads of stuff going on but for the new year. Grinning... I'm planning to resurface.

I declutter my house twice a year or so. But never came to the idea I can declutter my mind too (and it's a thing I so desperately nead). Get's straight into my new years resolution! Thanks!

It is a good idea, especially when things feel like they are piling on top of you.

What 'thing' couldn't you live without?

I think for me, it would be my notebooks of poems I've written. But most of them (the good ones) are on the blockchain now. So now I am thinking my laptop, as I like to Steem :)

My laptop and my internet connection,
for all the knowledge is at my fingertips, as long as I got them two working.

Ah the Konmari method seems to be wildly popular. Somehow I know about it, and I'm quite lousy at organizing things in ways that "spark joy". Actually, make that lousy at organizing things.

Decluttering is good though, I will do that.

Yes, in my case there will be piles of stuff and boxes to get rid off still but can get someone to load it in their car and take to charity shops, so it is not wasted.

This is what I read of this method, let go of the things that doesn't matter to make way of the things that does. ^^ I should do this too Helen. Thanks for reminding me this. :)

Yes, my flat will be unrecognizable - all there will be is a lot of kids toys as everything they have will spark joy!

Nice plan! Aja it will be soon.

Very good! Keep progressing. I laughed so hard at that living room picture.

I am deadly serious about sorting this aspect of my life out, as it makes me so tired looking at all. It will be good to be able to look around the flat and smile.

It also improves your focus & like you said, your mood.

Not my living room - its a stock photo. My living room is worse than that at this moment in time. Later this week I will write a post with before and after pictures.

This post has received gratitude of 1.07 % from @appreciator thanks to: @hopehuggs.

That's a looot of work you have to go through. Fortunately I did spend my Holidays elsewhere so my house is squeaky clean.
Muahahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47