Role Models For the Next Generation: David Deutchman

in #life7 years ago (edited)

You are my Sunshine
My Only Sunshine
You Make me Happy
When Skies are Blue

(Credit: Jimmie Davies)

I used to sing this to my own daughter to get her to sleep, but a wonderful man called David Deutchman sings it to babies in NICU, as he is a professional baby snuggler.

He is a retired marketing executive who much to the amusement of his friends, doesn't mind being peed or pooped on, in the role of baby buddy. But to David, this is the best job he has ever had.

In the video below, you can just see the love he has for this special job, he does twice a week in Atlanta GA.

As in ICUs all over the world, there are babies that have to stay there for weeks or months and sometimes their parents can't be there as much as they'd like, due to having other children, jobs to pay for treatments, or they live too far away to make more visits possible.

And hospital staff have a lot of responsibilities and can't always give the babies all the TLC they need to thrive. One of the nurses, at the hospital David Deutchman visits, commented "it helps them grow faster and put more weight on".

David doesn't snuggle babies for the parents though, he does it for each individual baby so they get to feel loved and this gives this special job meaning. This reminds me of the starfish story "made a difference to this one".

I think in the light of recent events, it is more important than ever to focus on the good and celebrate knowing good people and their acts of kindness, so perhaps that they might be the role models for the next generation and touch hearts and minds.

Watching this video made me cry, it was beautiful and the ICU Grandpa is so kind and tender:


Source: Youtube




Click the train to read more @ecotrain passenger's posts whose aim is to try to make the world a better place.

Sort:  

This is an absolutely beautiful picture of a good man doing what good men do. People tend to think of women as the nurturing ones and it's true that we usually are; but I'm not sure it's understood how deep and powerfully men are able to nurture as well.

Thank you for being such a good example, David.

What an inspiring individual. Can you imagine the world where every single individual would such a heartwarming things for another? I absolutely love it. The babies seem to like him also. :)

Great share my friend. No matter how many bad things happen in life there are also some positive and heartwarming stories such as this one. He brings back the faith in humanity. :)

That is awesome. I would love to hold and rock babies! It would be sort of sad when they leave the NICU, but also great for them if they're doing better. Thanks for sharing. So sweet.

Professional baby snuggler - what a great man that loves kids. Reminds me of my late Grandpa. Tough like a General of Army to adult but a gentle giant to kids.

Amazing man. He is doing what men were designed to do, to use their strength to nurture and protect the young and those who are weaker. @ironshield

YEAH! that is the wAY TO GO! so nice to see this happening..

How lovely he feels called to do that.

@hopehuggs, I really loved it and I thank you so much for sharing it. I agree what love he puts is so incredible and I hope the world will have more people like him! The same time I also wonder how you always become a person who resonates with my own ideas so much! I have been thinking to start a project recentrly and wops - your post as a confirmation%) I can't thank you enough for this and for you being the one who led me to Ecotrain community!
 @hopehuggs_by_@sashagenji.jpg

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59605.49
ETH 2607.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42