Hey You, Stop Being a Zombie!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Are you awake?

Yes, of course, you are if you are reading this, but are you aware of what is going on around you at this very moment?

I can hear the tumble dryer going, the kid's music cd and the bangs of their 'dancing' and the click-clack of the keyboard as I type. I can see the glaring white of the computer screen and I feel cold.

Focussing on what's going on around you what makes you alive and not just another zombie in autopilot mode.

Animals and babies are aware of what is going on around them and are alive to new experiences, but somewhere along the lines, we lose that connection of being aware, of feeling alive, instead, we are cooking the same dinner for the 100th time, getting little joy out of it - we lose connection with our environment.

Why is so hard to recapture this connection that we had as children?

There are many possible answers to that question, but one that is most pertinent is that we are too set in our routines and are not stimulated enough.

Do as I did a moment ago and listen. What can you hear?

Chances are that you can hear a ticking clock if you are indoors, but you may have not noticed it, till I mentioned it. The only reason why you didn't hear it before was because you have become desensitized to it.


source

What has happened is that as your brain has heard that ticking before, every second of it and it is something that you are completely used to and your brain says it is not important, so pushes it to the background.

Meanwhile, all the worries that constantly flood your mind do seem important.

The same thing happens when you cut ping pong balls in half and put them over your eyes...

At first, you will see the insides of the ping pong balls as you would expect, but after a few moments it will become fuzzy, because your eyes will become tired of the exact same stimulation, so they turn 'off'.

Nothing is changing, so they stop firing.

Are you sleepwalking through life?


source

  • Do you take the same route to work every day?
  • Do you take the same ride on the same bus?
  • Do you have the same breakfast?
  • Do you have the same conversations?
  • Do you do the same tasks every day at work?
  • Then do you get home and sit in the same chair?
  • Do you do the same housework chores day in and day out?

Living like this is going to kill us!

Our brains are not stimulated in the slightest by doing this kind of thing. We evolved to be constantly moving, being aware of danger, tracking prey, avoiding being eaten - we were alert. We were alive!

Now, the majority of us are zombies, sleepwalking through life - everything is safe, everything is the same.

If you want to be alive, you need to submit yourself to new situations, environments, and experiences that are different, exciting and interesting.

If you do this, those worries making you stressed will be forgotten, as you will be more engaged with the world and not your own petty concerns.

So...

  • Take a different route to work
  • Talk to strangers
  • Read a new genre
  • Start new hobbies
  • Learn new skills
  • Make housework fun - do it nude, put your favorite music on, or listen to a podcast or something.
  • Try new foods

When you change it up a little, you will come alive again the neural connections in your brain will spark back into action and you will be happier, smarter, more creative and ALIVE!

separator.png

I love my life.
I am beautiful.
I am powerful.
I am free.
I love my life
I am wonderful.
I am magical.
I am me.

Lyrics by Robbie Williams.

Lines to Live By

separator.png

More followers and upvotes: Steemfollower
Free daily crypto, that if it takes off we'll all be laughing: Swift Coins
Where bitcoin becomes real hard cash: Wirex App

Sort:  

Learning every single day from you Helen. :) I've been working in the same company for years. Steemit is a good community to interact and learn from each other.

I am learning from you as well Dawn, Steemit is a great place to come 'alive' and talk to strangers that become firm friends.

I believe so too. 💯

@hopehuggs yes i am awaking as i am on my way.

You need to be awake to enjoy the ride.

I really like this post! I do the same shit for 4 months now and spicing it up with this:

Take a different route to work
Talk to strangers
Read a new genre
Start new hobbies
Learn new skills
Make housework fun - do it nude, put your favourite music on, or listen to a podcast or something.
Try new foods

Can really help to stop feeling bored. However, reaching your goals requires sacrifice of current well-being.

Isolation is dangerous but absolutely required for any kind of mastery.

Adding a bit of spice can do wonders.

I will take your advice and do different random stuffs henceforth.

Random and spontaneous, that is a great way to feel alive.

I guess I am a zombie but maybe there's a chance of me coming back to life. we need these wake up reminders every once in a while :D
Thanks @hopehuggs

We can't be mindful all the time, we'd never sleep, but yes it is good to frequently catch yourself during the day and reminding yourself to open your eyes, hear the sound and smell the roses.

Awesome post @hopehuggs! As kids, time goes by so slowly probably because as children, we ARE present. It took forever to turn a year older. I remember saying I'm six and a half... six and three quarters... lol. We lived a lifetime in a year. Now it flies! We blink and a year goes by. Here's to being more present in 2018.

Yes, I remember how a long a year seemed to be, even a week when something exciting was going to happen. The best present is be present!

İt won't work, if your brain stop hearing or seeing somthing let it. Don't waste your brainpower to unnecessary thing.

Sometimes it is good to be mindful I think. It is not practical or possible to live your whole life being 'alive' all the time, but by creating moments every day is beneficial to all, I'd say.

I do find it valuable information that you shared here... it does seem silly that we can't isolate ourselves from negative thoughts and yet the positive ones are so easy to overlook.

Nice post. Cheers!

I try to keep to a ratio if you have a bad thought, try to think of three positive ones to shoo it out of your brain.

This is a lovely post and words I say to my family and friends everyday. It's nice to see another person realize what's going on in the world. I love your posts. xx

You are one of the most 'alive' people I have come across here on Steemit. I can feel it when I chat with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45