3-2-1-0 Hope Huggs On The One Who Got Away

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Today on 3 Minutes 2 Talk, 1 Take & 0 Script I am talking about how I cried yesterday, but they weren’t tears of sadness.

I watched a video about how this girl wrote a letter to her 16 year boyfriend about how much she loved him, but her mother said she was too young and wasn’t allowed to see him anymore, this letter was found a number of years later, well I’ll let you watch the video - it’s emotional!

But it made me think about the ‘one that got away’ if you like. The regret of not acting on those feelings.

watch as DTube Video Here

I was seventeen and at Sixth Form College studying a GNVQ in Business Studies (yes, I did one of those Generally Not Very Qualified qualifications - multiple choice questions, coursework, easy as pie)

But I went to university the year after, so he was soon forgotten in those years, so no way in the same league as the amazing story above, however, I watched it and this is the person I thought off.

His name was Martin. We chatted on the school’s ICQ system, he was Harrimar, I was Farmehel.

We got on well. He introduced me to listening to Manic Street Preachers. At break times, we’d all hang out with a group of others, including his non-identical twin brother Philip.

I also chatted to Philip and well err met him outside of school a couple of times in the woods, so whatever moral code was going on in my head at the time meant, well I couldn’t do the same with both brothers.

Martin was by far the nicer of two and I did have the opportunity once to make it more, but I said ‘no’ because of the dalliance with his twin (I’m not sure if he knew about it or not).

So he went off and find himself a girlfriend and I started going out with a guy called Roy. Nice lad, into Star Wars and idolized Harrison Ford. I didn't mind going to the cinema to watch Harrison Ford films.

But that was the end of that! Left college, went to university - ‘forgot’ Roy too, but we broke up before that anyway.

So, I met Martin about 5 years later outside where I was working when I was having a cigarette break, in my smoking days - he was still gorgeous, one or two extra piercings I seem to remember.

But, he was my one who got away.

I now and again have a search on Facebook or whatever, but my stalking hasn’t worked yet.

It’s just curiosity really, to see what hand life dealt him, or he dealt himself I should say.

I wish I felt I as do now - life is short, I tend to wear my heart on my sleeve these days. The people I care about know about it. There will be no regrets on that front.

Do you have a story about the one who got away?

with <3 @hopehuggs

purple.png

Youtube version:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65869.37
ETH 3414.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.58