I was born all wrong

in #life8 years ago

I mentioned that I come from a religiously conservative background. I don't often get to be my full self in a public space because my family is still very close to me. I've learned that sometimes safe is silent, and I think that's a shame.

I think "safe" should be nested in freedom of self-expression so long as we are not hurting anyone else.

A wish I have is for it to be okay to be me in this grand world. Not just when it comes to my family, but when it comes to broader spaces like this one. I noticed a bevy of downvotes when I expressed my bisexuality and polyamorous curiosity. It's one thing to disagree. It's another to press your religion through your fingertips to block someone's access to joy (or steem), and I'm guessing that's what's happening.

I used to believe I had to express my disapproval by implementing consequences for people.


By Saraware (Own work) [CC BY 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

That was a tenet of religious acceptance--do it right or go to Hell. It's also a common bullying tactic. Give me what I want or I'll hurt you.

It's not really hurting me to downvote me, but it is a bummer. I mean, if my writing sucks, that's one thing. If it's because you dislike my worldview, that's a different type of judgment entirely. I love this space. I want to be loved in this space. Or really, I want to be loved in any space.

There is not straightforward if you're not straight, white, Christian and male.

I'm queer, Other, agnostic and female. Just like my parents told me, I was born all wrong.

I don't believe I was born wrong, though.

Thing is, if there's one thing that stuck with me from religious doctrine, it's that, if there is a Creator, I was created by that entity perfectly. So cheers to that and to shaking off the haters. Happy steeming!

Sort:  

The greatest crime against morality was to have allowed his abduction by religions.

Morality's abduction? I agree with this.

I like what you write

Thank you. :)

Without a doubt, you were created perfectly - and you are perfectly loved and lovable. May peace fill and flood your heart.

I appreciate this. <3 I wish the same for you.

One of the things that always stuck with me from religious doctrine was the whole judge not lest ye be judged and let he who is without sin cast the first stone.

It's not my place to judge anyone for how they choose to live their life, just to treat them and show them kindness as I would anyone else.

Lots of beauty right here. ^^

I disagree. I bought some love last night and it was excellent. Upvoted anyway!

Your writing has an eloquence, mixed with a wonderfully hypnotic quality; I find myself wanting more as soon as I have finished your articles.

Like the magpie that I am, I have spied some of your techniques and will borrow them and assimilate them into my own :-)

Please keep entertaining us!

Oh and btw, the whole; "love me or I'll hurt you" thing, is a major reason why we can call religion out to be a load of manipulative, fear-mongering, claptrap.

Cg

Ooh! What an amazing comment. I am rolling in the good feels. :)

Nice :-)

Cg

It is probably quite thoughtful! The world isn't kind for many people.

Religion gives you guilt.

Inherent in the philosophy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50