Traditions

in #life5 years ago

I'm not talking about putting up the Christmas Tree or baking muffins every time the grandkids come over or whatever (though I would not say no to some muffins...you know, just in case anyone out there is in possession of some :D). But the traditions I mean (my favorite kind, to be honest) are musical traditions. Namely concerts.

For me, going to concerts provides a family feeling, a belonging feeling. Even if you're alone. Even when you don't know anyone there. I frequently find myself liking some stranger at a show simply because of the passion with which they sing along. Don't you just love seeing someone get lost in the music? I do.


59981836_321142921885338_1318933084497772544_n.jpg
From last year's concert...

And something I've noticed, being part of multiple music fandoms is that many of these bands have their own little traditions. For example, a Romanian band I like has a traditional concert in December. Always at the same venue, always somewhere mid-December. And I always go.

Why? Because the first of their concerts I went to was one of these traditional ones. It's when I first saw them live and through the years, these shows have accumulated lots of great memories. And besides, the year just isn't complete without that show.

Same with another popular band here in Romania, who's having their traditional May show next week. They have changed venues, because they've gotten a lot bigger in recent years, so they're upgrading to one of the biggest concert venues in Bucharest, which is awesome. And my best friend and I just bought tickets :D Obviously, I'm really excited.

I was in two minds about going, because she wasn't initially supposed to be here on that day and because I figured I could save the money, but now that we are going, I'm really glad. They're an amazing band, with brilliant lyrics.

And I know we kinda fell for a marketing thing (they just released a new song last night), but I don't really mind this time. They deserve it, since they're talented musicians. Funny thing is, I initially hated this band as they are so very popular, especially among the young girl crowd. I thought myself above that and a few years back, I went to a local festival to hear another band play and my friend wanted to stay and hear these guys as well, so I figured what the hell. And they blew me away.

See, I think it's important to deviate from the norm and try not to go with the crowd, but also be fair. Because there's often a tendency in people who are different to exaggerate and keep away from popular things just 'cause they're popular. But who knows, maybe if you give 'em a fair shot, they might surprise you...

So, Honey is happy. What are you up to?

Cheers for reading everyone,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

I'm not good with crowds, so unfortunately, I can't really connect concerts with a family feel. I do, however, get that there must be a feel good vibe to see some people in concert, because I've seen parts of Pink performing on screen and she does put on a great show.

Posted using Partiko Android

I understand :) I don't normally do crowds either, but with concerts, it's a bit different for me. There's a connection that makes me stomach the large mass of people :D

Yeah, it's particularly great when the artist is invested in putting on a show and has a good energy. Luckily, these guys are great at that and it's shaping up to be a pretty fun event :)

Because there's often a tendency in people who are different to exaggerate and keep away from popular things just 'cause they're popular.

I would call this a "hipster syndrome" - the need to always like unpopular things. A lot of the mainstream things are shit, but it doesn't mean every thing that's gone mainstream is there undeservingly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74