People living in Mega cities are more stressed & aggressive?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

I have relocated in my life several times. from cities in EU, Dubai and cities in Asia. Among them, there were large cities and small ones. cities with 10+ million of population, and cities with less than 200.000 population.

group-stressed-people-having-headache-260nw-635919692.jpg
image source

What I have understood, is people living in smaller cities, are less stressed, less aggressive and look happier! let's check some facts and my thoughts on them:

Benefits of living in a Mega City

It is believed in large cities, there are better services and qualities of activities like below items which I fetched from credit.com article:

  • Public Transportation
  • Attractions & Entertainment
  • Restaurants & Shopping
  • Social Possibilities & Networking
  • Medical Care & Service for Seniors

big-cities-people.jpg

Do you like to live in a large city? spot yourself in the picture!

I have to admit some, but challenge some others.
Public transportation is better in large cities because poor citizens NEED it! if you are living in a walk-able and bike-friendly city, with no traffic conjunction, what is your need for BETTER public transportation?

Same for Medical care; while you are living in a large city, your health will be more at risk than living in a healthy small city with fresh air and more organic food.

For entertainment purpose, if you are wealthy enough, you will be able to travel more, enjoy many big cities' entertainment facilities and options!
Social possibilities? in the age of Internet, are you KIDDING ME?!

Cost of living

While you are living in smaller cities, you will probably face less expenses and living costs. This obviously depends on your life style, but overall, it is proven in majority of cases.

So you will be able to save more and then, go back to what I said about entertaining yourself!

Cost of time

Time is gold? an ounce is $1320 today, so don't waste your golden time in traffic jams, waiting for others to participate in meetings, in large ques etc

Pollution and health issues

I don't see any necessity to explain it more than the title does! more cars, more industries, less mobility of people and less time to spend for your health.

11.jpg

you live once

But how can I make money in a small city?

des.gif

This is the point! it's up to you! if you are working for a big company headquarter in a mega capital city, then you may feel hopeless for such challenge. but there are many jobs, especially nowadays, which doesn't need you to be in a specific place. trading, online marketing and many startups are among them. Internet has changed many things.

note: none of the images in this post are mine!

Sort:  

Me gusta, tienes mi voto al 100.00%

saludos
fair.zombie

I switched also a couple of countries until now and I lived for about three years in a 4 million inhabitants city. I know exactly what you're referring to about public transportation in such cities and the way you move in small towns an villages. Now I'm back in my hometown and I actually sold my car last year as I used it less and less. I choose the bike or I walk more than I could imagine.
Btw...You're posts are great, but undervalued. At least in my opinion. Keep up with the good work!

Thank you buddy 🙇‍ I'm happy to hear you back to healthier life style 😊
Valuation is still a problem here... I believe in persistence. And there's no guarantee for getting compensated at all 🙄

May the concept of metropolitan areas and mega cities be forgotten in our lifetime. #life #healthy #stressrelief

I believe it's different in developing countries vs emerging or under-developed ones. in many countries still the trend is to make cities bigger... sad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36