You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ”Quiet in front, it’s time for a lesson!”

in #life6 years ago

I nearly abandoned my university education dozens of times. Not because it was hard, but because I saw that type of learning as far too institutional, structured, and with no room to really develop, or learn from mistakes.

I think over the last decade, we've lowered our standards on what it is to be "learned", and the beneficial feedback that is constructive; (yet at times brutal) - can be found in no place but in the voices of those who also wish to learn.

Sort:  

Oh yes, snap! I agree about the lowered standards, could it be because we let the technology think for us, it’s cultivating a sort of lazy learnitude?

I think the whole notion of "let's not hurt anyone's feelings" is what is hurting learning the most.

If we all agree on things, we don't have discourse, or conflict. We can't argue (in the academic sense, not the throwing pans and pots at each other sense!) for a position; without devolving to comparing the other party to hitler.

It is good to hear alternative viewpoints. You have to respect other people; but you don't have to respect their opinions.

Conversely, this quote can work the other way around as well.

I can respect someone, but not respect their opinions on a certain topic.

Will you be making an appearance next Thursday at the Jade? I plan to bring the shiny silver Succubi! (From years past!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84