You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How good are your comments?

in #life6 years ago

As I browsed over new posts, I ran into yours and I am so glad I opened it. I have not been on Steemit for long, and my growth here has been organic, which is a nice way to say very slow, but it accelerated thanks to comment section interaction.

I don't do much on discord. I feel lost and confused among so many channels and people and my brain just shuts, but when I feel hooked by an author's posts I try to go beyond the mere compliment.
It has paid off. Now I wish I had more time to better interact with authors whose comments encourage more comments.

7 days is too short a time for a post to be open for voting and even though commenting can extend beyond that period, for obvious reasons, the chances of an author going back to one's comment after a certain time diminish.

I find your post very useful and nicely written. Fun image ("prove that you are not a robot"), well organized, to the point.

Unfortunatelly, in this platform some users do not even bother to answer ones' comments and at some point one fels it does not make any sense to continue trying and one moves on to interact with other users.

I celebrate that users like yourself highlight the importance of commenting as part of the process of growing up in the platform.

Sort:  

WOW you blew me away. You really looked deeply into what was said. I like that very much.
You know when people think deeply about things, they learn so much more than the person who just glances at things and moves on quickly.
I have tried to answer every comment on my blogs, but sometimes it's had to make a decent reply to short `empty' comments. Today I'll not answer short comments to to prove a point. But I still appreciated their time and effort, so I'll up-vote them.

That sounds like a nice gesture. Every time I can, I tell this story of a certain user whose poetry post I commented once and from whom I learned a hard lesson. I had established as a "norm" by that time that given my poor SP I would not vote a post under 90% of my VP, so I would comment and come back later to vote when my VP was over 90%.

This one poem called my attention and I wrote what I thought was a very good comment/analysis. This guy responded that he felt insulted because I commented but did not vote, and therefore that diminished the value of my comment, that he did not care if my VP was 1%, that I was just fishing upvotes. Darn, he wanted his vote.

He had been upvoting the most mundane and robotic comments; I think that's what hit me. So I went ahead and gave the man his vote and stooped following him. He did not upvote my comment though.
So, I understood some people here are not interested in building community, reciprocating or learning form others, let alone teaching others.

The monetary incentive Steemit established as their campaign slogan has been its greatest appeal and most likely its greatest defect.

Wow that was some response. We have a choice to comment or not to comment, or even up-vote. We don't have to do either. So that guy was been rude and ungrateful of your input. Sounds like it was all about him. Shame, and your heart was in the right place. And sometimes we miss up-voting by mistake!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43