You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Life: The Pleasure Of Routine

in #life5 years ago

I agree that habits, good ones, are key to consistency and discipline. Ben Franklyn developed a whole method to build the self-made man. Fitzgerald used that to mold the Great Gatsby and most self-help literature is founded over some habitual basis.
I think that when it comes to creative work and fitness, habits are key to achieving goals. But, as you suggest, a balance should be found and life is full of surprises it would be a pity to miss just because we always want to be on the safe side.
I think that many of the wonderful things that happen to us in our lives are the result of "accidents", serendipity, or improvisation. As some people say, that which we do not plan ends up working better.

Sort:  

I'm reading to you and I'm remembering a poem that speaks precisely of how the joy of life is that chain of coincidences and surprises that take our breath away. I enjoy the routine a lot, but I don't close myself off from it. I have a niece who is bored and is always looking for something new to do and always tells me that I'm not bored because I'm old. hahahaha. Maybe with the years, we learn to value the quietness of the sea, the same smells, to appreciate the same spaces. Thank you for your accurate comment, @hlezama.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59347.70
ETH 2534.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47