am i happy with my salary???

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hey Hi...

This is story of my friend...

Working in MNC earning 10 LPA.

Settled in Ahmedabad, but north Indian by birth…Now working in Chennai Tamilnadu…

Brace yourself, Let me expound the journey from Rs 2 to 65 K.

When my father moved to Ahmedabad from small and remote village of Allahabad. Leaving a legacy of farming there. He started working in mill, as Ahmedabad was Manchester of textiles, and hub of textile merchants…

He was earning 1.5 to 2.0 K per month, it was not enough for him to settle properly with my mother and two sister with our daily need and education. Meanwhile he had to look after the need back at village, farming, loss in season crops, and marriages of his younger brother and sisters. My father is eldest after 3 younger brother and 2 younger sisters.

Then my mummy joined and started supporting my father, by doing stitching work at home. Initially she lent the sewing machine from neighbor, but after 3 years, we bought our own big sewing machine, it was huge investment in our family, as the cost was 12K.

Now Income of my, family nearly doubled by 3.5 K. My family always wanted me to be ambitious and study hard, so we don’t have to face the situation like this in future.I have seen, how we purchased mixer grinder, utensil set, Diwali cloths, monthly grocery, all was on EMI based. Back then we have to register by our name to the vendors in their note books, and bill was getting paid in monthly installment.

Due to financial situation, we all 3 siblings studied in government school (Just imagine government school, and its infrastructure back in 90’s). I remember me and my sisters asking our parents to pay 10 Rs, so I can take school group photo yearly to make memory of my school friends. I don’t have those photos even today.

We used to ask for 3 rupees, whenever my government school was giving discount on zoo and circus tickets. We didn’t had that fun too in school.Later I was sent to study with my uncle in harda, MP. Till this now I didn’t had any income, and privilege of having single rupee and fun associated with it.

After 3 years I returned to Ahmedabad and enrolled in private school, for further high school, till then also my family income was merely 6K. It was really hard to see my parents affording the education for me and my sisters.

But with this I also started stitching work with my mummy and sisters to help and enhance the income for survival.I have seen my father working for 12 hour shift in textile factory and then 12 hours as security in charge. He was engaged 24 hours so we can have better education, and quality of life. I remember whenever I was going to give tiffin to my father in factory, it was noisy place, with humid environment and heavy machine running with full thrust. There was no place inside to rest and sit.

At the age of 16, I grossed my first 2 Rs, which my father used to give me on every Saturday to have samosa in school, single samosa was costing 1.5 Rs only at that time. That special Saturday when I was contributing in my group for samosa party, and was able to say to my friends, that I don’t like eating outside except Saturday, as my family don’t allow outside snacks.

Later in college, in midterms and holidays, I started taking coaching classes at home, which was making 1000 Rs. Month for my family need. I used to walk 4 km from bus stand so I can save 3 Rs of bus. I was not making friends, those overhead money lavishly, Neither in school nor in college.

Then after semester exams, I joined Transport Company as data entry operator, worked as fitter sometimes I have been used as labor to unload and load the truck, my earning was 60 Rs per day.Then as waiter in Macd’s in evening to night shift, there I was earning 200 Rs per day.

With all these part terms jobs, I was able to manage my engineering expense, but still I was dependent on my father for fees of 2500 Rs per semester.I have to think and wait a long before, saying this to my father for need of college fees, As I was aware he wouldn’t be having that much money all of sudden. He has to lend from his friends.

As I was detained in first year of my college (As I was from Hindi school, and it was hard for me to understand the terms given in books. I had 4 back logs which means detain for a year).I joined my college as lab teacher, and earned 4000 Rs, The payment I received after 2 years.

Then I joined as Assistant lecturer in Government College, and it was fixed pay of 20K. All of sudden after 11 month, government circular came stating to discontinue all Ad hoc lecturers.

My job was my insecurity, which I wanted to save as rock as solid.

This time started with 12 K, from small company as GET after 2 years of my college.Then shifted to other and now working in reputed MNC.

The journey was not so easy, as I seen many fights in my home for money, Hardest days, when I was not able to prepare and fill forms for government jobs. Was not able to say friends, as I can’t join for any travel, or treat because was of money. Bus pass, shoes, cloths, tuitions, fancy things was not my cup of cake.

Now far away the stage and reality I have seen with and without money, being away from family in Chennai, I realize that, money is not everything, I wanted to earn money, but away from family, and my parents living alone is nothing to me.

Conclusion:

You might have heard this from many millionaire and billionaire many times, but sometimes in your life, your loss will make you understand that, yes money is not everything life.

I purchased lavish flat, and car, but it is not something what I wanted, where the hell money is buying me a happiness. It’s all just for comfort I am having now.

Its not always money which you earn, Money earn you as well, and you be lost that you have something in your account.

Just try to live with the fact that, whenever you need money, you should have that time to fill, not more and less. This might bring you happiness in you and your family face from within.

Its moment what you earn is the real currency, and for sure you want to be lost in that world.

Kindly ignore the grammar mistakes, I hope conveyed appropriately.

image

Sort:  

Good that you have survived from the struggles and difficulties of finishing your studies due to financial problems, money is not everything but it can make you happy. Try to pamper your parents as this is the best time to return their kindness of going through a lot of struggle to help you finish your studies to become an engineer then help others who are struggling from financial problems but still very determined to finish their studies. You were once upon a time in their shoes so you know how it feels when somebody is giving you a hand so you can survive :) cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62149.46
ETH 2438.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68