Ladies! Lifting will not make you look manly! (Getting my body back part II)

in #life6 years ago

From no exercise, to dancing, to pilates…I started to lift weights and started to see changes in my body.

There’s a common misconception that women who lift weights will get a manly or “bulky” body or that’s too buff. That’s not true, and it actually helps gain lean muscle mass and give you curves in the right places…and who doesn’t want that?? Firsthand look on my personal experience:

The best shape and healthiest I’ve been in my life. I was eating healthily and working out regularly. This was 3 months before I got pregnant with my 2nd babe.

[November 10, 2016]

Some might say this is too muscular. I remember when I started working out and saw the transformations in my body, I was shocked and wondered if it was too muscular.

[June 5, 2016]

However, some friends encouraged and reassured me. I began to enjoy seeing the changes and my perception of the woman’s body shifted to positive thoughts as I associated the changes with strength and health. You can see the changes in muscle and tone just 5 months from the other picture.

*Weight training helps with:

  1. burning fat more effectively during and after a workout
  2. burning more calories as you have more muscle
  3. build curves with muscles in the right places
  4. better sleep
  5. increase energy
  6. healthy heart
  7. healthy bones, decreasing osteoporosis which many women suffer from as they age
  8. stress relief!

Men and women should lift weights, and it will help build confidence too! I encourage everyone to learn the proper techniques and body mechanics to do it with a trainer or a knowledgeable friend. Lifting weights the wrong way can cause an injury if don’t the wrong way. Start with lighter or no weights, and build up from there! Happy lifting!

*source from bodybuilding.com

Sort:  

I have just started lifting. I started about 3 months ago and love it! Feeling strong is so empowering. and I can eat now without always thinking of the calories. I just have trouble trying to fit all the protein in I need.

Agreed! Another benefit of lifting...you can also bulk to gain the muscles and then cut later if you want! Following you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57307.38
ETH 2434.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32