Behind the scenes - Making music

in #life6 years ago

As a composer and producer working in a recording studio my work brings about situations where I connect with incredible and diverse people

Most recently I worked with Goodluck Music and Blackmotion Music on a colab they were involved in so I thought I'd share a little insight into the process.

Black Motion

Black Motion.jpg

Goodluck

After their recent signing to Ultra Music
GoodLuck-Release-1.jpg

Certain groups like to work with people like me who work behind the scenes in helping make the music happen. Well what are "People like me"?
I play a variety of musical instruments as well as run run recording studios, which means I have access to an array of instruments, synths, microphones etc.
This helps when trying to form the essence of the song or production, as sometimes, an idea of a track won't work without a real bass guitar or a real acoustic guitar, or even a trombone! Using virtual instruments can be amazing and works a lot of the time, but oftentimes a song really needs the inherent imperfections that come with having a human being play a real instrument.

Here are some pics of me playing bass and writing lyrics with singer, Juliet, from Goodluck.

IMG_5091.JPG
IMG_5092.JPG

Recently a colab between Goodluck and DJ Ganyani, which I was fortunate enough to work on, sat in the top 10 and top 20 on national radio in South Africa for several months. The track, titled "Fading", was a perfect storm of Pop melodies and Afrohouse rhythms and for me, was one of the stronger local tracks of 2017. I love the people that I'm working with at Goodluck. Its humbling to work with people that are authentic, driven, and are all about the hard work. As they say themselves:

"The harder I work, the luckier I get".

I love being one of the silent members on songs like this, and enjoying the rush of having people love your music without the stress of having to promote it, shoot music videos etc. Oh, speaking of music videos....Enjoy!

Thanks for reading. Follow me @heypapalegend

Sort:  

Goodluck and blackmotion. Damn! I'm a music producer from SA so I know what that means man good stuff. I got the same sort of feeling when I worked on Toya and Cassper songs last year. People would vibe out and I'd have zero responsibility over the songs promo etc. Thanks for sharing.

Damn bro! Toya and Cassper?? 🤩🤩🤩 Nice!!!

Thanks. I really want to explore the scene that side and possibly work with people from the Western Cape. I've already met one artist from that side. I'm looking to branch out that side a whole lot more

Hey,
I'm really interested in composition, and I've tried multiple times using Sibelius. However, I find that I always want to either give up or I have a brand new idea so I start all over. You seem like you're really great at this. Any tips? Anyways, just followed and upvoted you!

Thanks 🙏🏻 What kind of composition are you wanting to do? Sometimes it can be really frustrating working in software that doesn’t focus on Sound. Sibelius is great, and you can patch in other virtual instruments that sound better, but it’s essentially a scoring tool. It’s nice to use a program like Logic Pro or the equivalent if you’d like to compose with the idea of releasing the work as is. The downside to programs like Logic is that the scoring tools aren’t very good so you end up using the piano roll to compose, but to be honest, there’s nothing wrong with that 😊

You might be right, the sounds on Sibelius sound a little bad. I'll maybe try out Logic, thanks for replying. Keep posting!

Just keep in mind Logic is Mac only so if you on PC then you might like Cubase or Reaper (open source and free!) 😊

Okay thanks!

Awesome post bro, welcome back to Steemit!!!

@heypapalegend! You forgot to mention that youre also a GOD at factorio ;)

You know it Bro 😎

Ah! I love this song! The video is so great. That dancer is amazing.

God listen to me, I am just a fountain of bubbly encouragement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27