Ask Arnold: Success is all about SELLING!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Arnold Schwarzenegger was millionaire in dollars long ago before landing "Conan" role. That taught him quite a few things about business, money, investment and marketing. A set of skills he was willing to use for his movie career.

Artists or Businessmen... The actors' conundrum

It's not only for his atypical body that Arnold Schwarzenegger such a strange kind of actor in Hollywood. It was also for his business mind, capable of rivalling with the studio moghul when it came about promoting a movie and attracting as many audience as possible, thanks to his drive and determination and hard work.

[...] very few actors liked to sell. I'd seen the same thing with authors in the book business. The typical attitude seemed to be, "I don't want to be a whore. I create; I don't want to sell. I'm not into the money thing at all." It was a real change when I showed up saying, "Let's go everywhere, because this is good not only for me financially but also good for the public; they get to see a good movie!" Eventually the studio agreed to have me promote Conan in five or six countries. 


What is good for the movie is good for Arnold!

Arnold was not only a beast on screen, he also quickly learned how to swoon the audience in public and in direct, and to sell his movies better than any studio marketing director. He had an interest and a responsibility into it.

I saw myself as a businessman first. Too many actors, writers, and artists think that marketing is beneath them. But no matter what you do in life, selling is part of you. You can't make movies without money. Even if I had no publicity obligation in my contract, it was still in my interest to promote the movie and make sure it made as much money as possible. I wanted to be involved in the meetings. I wanted everyone to see that I was working very hard to create a return on the studio's investment. I felt it was my responsibility to pump up the grosses.


Get our product out there and let it be known as the most amazing!

There is no two ways to look at it. You can write the best novel ever and let it rot in a drawer for a hundred years, or you can go all in and go for the Noble Prize and the big prize!

You can have the greatest movie in the world, but if you don't get it out there, if people don't know about it, you have nothing. It's the same with poetry, with painting, with writing, with inventions. It always blew my mind that some of the greatest artists, from Michelangelo to Van Gogh, never sold much because they didn't know how. [...] That was not going to happen with my movies. Same with bodybuilding, same with politics - no matter what I did in life, I was ware that you had to sell it.


Money is the sinew or war... and the standard of success

You are never too rich or too poor not to think about money. If you don't pay attention to your bank account, investment opportunities, Bitcoin rate or whatever... Don't expect that they will pay attention to you!

No matter what you do in life, you have to have a business mind and educate yourself about money. You can't just delegate it to a manager and tell him, "Half has to stay locked in investments so that we can pay the taxes, and I'll keep the other half." My goal was to get rich and stay rich. I never wanted to have the phone call where the manager says, "Something went wrong with the investment. We can't pay our taxes." I wanted to know the details.



 Find the 3 first parts here:

https://steemit.com/life/@herverisson/about-leadership-hardwork-and-trust-the-scharzenegger-method  

https://steemit.com/life/@herverisson/the-arnold-schwarzenegger-s-chronicles-how-to-compete-work-succeed-and-reach-your-goals

https://steemit.com/life/@herverisson/life-lessons-from-arnold-schwarzenegger-s-autobiography

Source:

https://www.amazon.com/Total-Recall-Unbelievably-True-Story/dp/1451662440 

Sort:  

Arnold Schwarzenegger was paid $15 million for the second Terminator and had a toal of 700 words of dialogue, which meant he was paid $21,429 per word. “Hasta la vista, baby” cost $85,716

Hahahaha :D Great stats!

Love this post ! I am now a follower and am looking forward to reading your previous links ! Steem on my friend , awesome job !
Upvoted and resteemed ! 💪💪💪👍😉

Thanks a looooot :) much appreciated!

Thanks for following me as well ! Much appreciated ! Steem on !💪👍😉💪

Great post. I really like the outlook that it's not enough to just produce something great and then sit back and expect people to notice.

Great post upvote and follow you.
Gran post te voto y te sigo.
Follow me please:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@germanaure/hello-steemians-introduceyourself

Gracias! Followed back :)

Excellent post. Followed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66