My downstairs neighbor is a monster from the pit of hell.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

She bangs with her broomstick during the day; she bangs during the night.
A witch of the worst sort.

She used to wait until she heard a noise before banging.
Now she waits until it's quiet. Then she begins bashing on my ceiling, trying to drive fear into me.

This terrible clashing is sometimes just one sudden bang, as if to wake me from sleep, or startle me. But more often, it goes on for minutes straight, unending banging and bashing, as if she had gone utterly mad. Of course, it's obvious that she has gone mad.

Completely, utterly insane.

She's far beyond redemption. I already have an attorney working on this, but alas, it's easier to go to jail for a joint, than it is to have justice delivered upon a villain. To think that in this world, it is more illegal to cross a street when you want, than it is to be a malicious, cruel neighbor.

Tsk, still, there are ways to destroy her.

Evidence. And oh my, does she provide. File upon file of audio files, all examples of her thumping, bashing, banging, and crashing things into her walls. Sometimes she's rapping her fists on the walls, other times she smashes it with broomsticks or a rake.

She'll even scratch at the radiator, clawing at it to make bizarre sounds, before banging on it over and over, bashing it so the sound carries through the pipes. And oh how it does. It's strange how this started though.

Just noise complaints. Oh no, not me. I don't actually mind noise much, at least not normal noise.
But she does, and she didn't like the creak of my chair. Now, is this some sort of horribly creaky chair?

Nope. It was just a normal office chair for my computer. Nothing fancy, but not one of those tiny cheap ones either.
It was just fine, I'd wager, and made a tiny amount of noise if I shifted my weight around in it at all. I never even noticed the noise, but ohhhhh my, this neighbor from hell did. And that's even with concrete floors with carpet on them.

She called a mediation session, in order to "resolve" the issue.
A little meeting, to discuss the issue with the condo staff.

It was very amusing to watch. I didn't have to say much, but my neighbor had quite a lot to say.

And it was all quite rude to everyone there. I'm not sure how it's possible, but this person turned absolutely everyone against her in the first five minutes. These were patient, reasonable people though, so they just endured her insults.

Nonetheless, it was bizarre to watch. She lied, exaggerated, insulted, made sick implications, and generally made a complete ass, even a monster, out of herself.

How could this be? How could any person make so many enemies so quickly?
And lo and behold, during this meeting, we discovered that she had driven out the last tenants who lived in my condo as well.

What a shock. Yet, why can justice not be delivered?
What is wrong with this justice system, that despite absurd amounts of evidence, we can't get her locked away in a padded room? Sigh. She technically owns the condo, so she can't just be evicted.

Still, I hope my attorney will destroy her.

Yes, utterly destroy her. After months upon months of this abusive harassment, and deliberate cruelty upon my sleep schedule, she must be destroyed. Muhaha!

Seriously, it's a major pain having a weirdo like this below me.

Wish me luck.

~Kitten

Sort:  

I understand you, i have very similar prblems with my upstair neiborgh, he 's not working and he stay all day home and stay up all night and he make crazy and weird sounds , not tyhe normal ones , just for annoy me and insult if he hear something from my home, like move a chair on day hours or the sound of my school lessons ,,,good luck with your weirdo!!

Thanks.

Yeah, my neighbor is just absurdly bizarre. I don't even know why she bothers.

She also hates it when I type Steemit posts, because I have to use a keyboard. Heheh.
I think she doesn't just hear it.

She LISTENS for noise.

Totally a weirdo.

Good luck with yours.

i think they are just a kind of paranoids, also if im not at home most of the day , im in college or at work, so im not a noisy person but when i come home he feel as a big noise also if i wash my dishes.... maybe they are over sensible about sounds but surely they do not have good manners!

Oh my goodness, this sounds like a proper nightmare and she sounds deranged to say the least. There MUST be a way to get justice, maybe you just have to be more perseverant and patient than the previous tenants. She really sounds like she needs to be institutionalised!! I hope you get it sorted asap and until then have very good ear muffs :)

Yeah, she's a total nutter.

Apparently a lot of people in this building actually really dislike her, or even think she's straight up crazy. It's really sad how we can't just get rid of her.

I wish bullies could be dealt with easier.

Does she own her unit or rent it? Is there some sort of body corporate that you could make a joint request to have her evicted? Or straight to the landlord? Surely if there are enough of you and with all the evidence you have. I assume your lease is for a residential unit minus the harassment you are currently receiving so isn't it the owner of the building's responsibility to some extent? What does your attorney say?

No, she truly owns her condo. The property is hers.

So that's why it's difficult. But it's not impossible.
It's just a matter of bringing it to court.

But that takes awhile, even with full support from the condo council.
Still, she's made everyone an enemy, so I think she'll eventually be ordered to leave.

So far, she's just paying massive fines for violating my "right to quiet enjoyment".

Sounds like it's going to be a long road, hope you get it sorted!

If she likes to complain about noise, give her some to complain about...I suggest Rammstein, Pantera, White Zombie...all sound great at full volume!

Ohhhh yes, I've got quite a collection of epic metal waiting.

But no, not yet. I need to maintain my perfect innocence.

I had an elderly neighbor just like yours. We had an epidemic of starlings (or grackles) that crapped all over everything...they were roosting in the trees. The old lady called animal control and they told her to play loud rock music and they would go away. She stopped me after work and told me and said I was the only person she knew with loud rock music. So, I put my speakers on the porch and sure enough in a couple days the birds were gone. The next time I played my music...she called the police!

Upvoted and resteemed:-)

Thank you.

This woman must have problems in her coconut ;) Courage to you Kitten ! (Upvoted and Followed)

Thanks.

Yeah, it's really really harrowing to deal with.
My entire life feels like it's going down this awful spiral of doom, just because she does this literally every day.

Ahhhhhh.

If I can give you an advice, do not let her sink you. I know it's easier to say than to do, but showing her your good side when she shows you her bad one would be the a greatest mark of wisdom. Best wishes to you =)

The worst nightmare will be be if she finds out your steemit account! Muhaha!

Ehh, I wish, but honestly, even though I'm a writer who loves poetic and flowery language, I didn't exaggerate much.

This is basically how she is. She really does just pound on her ceiling for no reason at all.
She's totally wacko, and it can't really get worse than it is.

Sigh.

Also, that lady in your picture looks very hungry.
I recommend a delicious chocolate doughnut, or even carrots with dip.

Reminds me of a neighbor I once had:

Oh god, noisy neighbours are the worst! In my very first appartment, we had an upstairs neighbour who would bang on furniture (or maybe even just throw them across the room) and run, screaming through the hallways. She must have been crazy! I even called the cops a few times. Nothing was being done about it though, no matter how much I complained.

The next appartment held a downstairs neighbour. This guy always had friends over straight into the night, on work days. I could almost hear what was being said and oh my god, how much the laughter annoyed me. Other times, when his girlfriend was there, they would sleep together and she was not the quiet type. Great to hear in my bedroom, right above theirs!

After those horrors, I promised myself I would never live in an appartment building again. I bought myself a corner house and I've had the best sleep, ever since.

Late reaction, I know... couldn't help myself!

Ahaha, it's ok to be late.

Still, it sounds like you're the sort of person who gets annoyed by noises easily, so it'd probably be you who ends up going insane and banging anytime someone tries to have fun.

Or you would, but you seem perfectly sane because you moved out, and now have a nice life. Good job making a sane choice. I wish my neighbor would...

Oh yes, I'm a very light sleeper, so any noise wakes me up. I understand living in an appartment building, you hear people around you. I just find it very rude that people don't take this into consideration in the middle of the night. I would think a proper neighbour would tone it down a bit. I understand the occasional late night during the weekend, but almost every night, on week days? That's just plain rude.

Anyways, I was forced to wear earplugs most nights, which really hurt my ears. It was an impossible situation, so moving out seemed like the only thing I could do to keep my sanity and actually get some sleep.

From experience I can tell you how horrible you can feel when you're experiencing too much noise, too often. You get stressed out and feel hopeless. It's a horrible situation to be stuck in. Maybe your neighbour doesn't have the option or funds to move out :-(

No, she started banging the first day we moved in.

She's been completely insane and mean from day one, so ehhh.
I can't really let it go. If she doesn't have the funds to move out, she'll have to live on the streets, and I'd prefer that. She's deliberately caused me lots of pain, so I don't really have any mercy for her.

Oh gosh, yeah that sounds very unreasonable. Did she know you just moved in? Well I guess she must have...

To be fair, it seems like she's the one causing most of the noise disturbances in this case, so I can completely understand your stance on this. It's quite a horrible thing when you can't relax in your own home. I was very disapointed the first time, finding out that hardly anything could be done about this. I found that, in the end, the person who wants peace and quiet basically loses and will have to move to a new home to find it.

The same thing happened to a friend of mine. Her upstairs neighbour deliberately made lots of noise and bad smells to basically force her out. The annoying thing here was that he was a minority and so when she complained, they just called her a racist. She eventually moved out and back to her parents.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51