Following The Track

in #life7 years ago

I teach a couple of acting classes a week, one on Tuesday nights where I give the actors in the group a cold read scene and then the second half of the class I shoot their prepared on camera audition scenes. During the shooting of one of the students, I somehow came up with an analogy for the acting process. It started out something like this: the feedback I gave to the actor I was working with was to listen more and be in the moment.

I likened it to being a bobsled racer, in that you've run the track umpteenth number of times. And even though you're familiar with the course, you still have to be in the moment to navigate nuances that the route presents. Because the track will behave differently each time, based on how many runs you've done and how many runs have been done on it prior to you coming onto it.

bobsled.jpg

As well as when the stakes go up because there is an actual prize for performance on the line, that's when the adrenaline gets pumping, and you have to manage calming your nerves and excitement and try to stay in the moment.

Because it's being and reacting in the moment that will produce your best work, and your best results. And if your attention slips away momentarily, the results could be disastrous (I used the death of a skier in the 2010 Olympics here in Vancouver as an example).

The same principle applies in the craft of acting, though the physical stakes are considerably lower.

That's my share for today, it's been a few days since I posted.

WARM HUGS!

Warm-Hug-With-You-2.gif

Sort:  

Great post! I am new to steemit and would love a follow back!

Hi @healove Tha you for the upvote, and thank you for the follow :) I notice you are new, having only joined this month! It's pretty cool here, I'm still learning as I go. I look forward to seeing you around more!

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59155.91
ETH 2515.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47