Henry Gant, Man About Town. This episode: Wedding presents.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

My sister is getting married!! Yeah!

It's kinda O' surprise because my sister is a very independent and solid person. She is a nurse administrator.
Both my sisters have graduated college with a bachelor's degree of some kind. Us boys, (there are 3) managed to inherit the Simpson gene. **

Anyway, She wanted me to find a squash blossom necklace, and a turquoise watchband for her soon-to-be husband.
She said, that I could get a much better price out here in Arizona.
Yeah, I can get a great price just going to the local trading post. So, that's what I did.

I just wandered down to the local trading post . . . and the nice lady showed me all the cheap crap. (I dress like the homeless needing to get warm.) I saw what I wanted when I first walked in; but, I like to humor the shop owners.
When she was done showing me what should have scared me off. She pulled her sweater tight and snapped it closed around her torso like women do.

I look up and she stared at me blankly; as if to say, "Are you done looking yet?"

"What about the nice stuff?"
I furthered. "In the display case . . . at the entrance . . . . How much?"
Her eyes widened.

Jen's necklass.jpg

"And the men's watch band . . . the one with Kingman's turquoise, it looks like a Robert and Bernice Leekya vintage work."

watchband Jen.jpg

The Necklace is made by Wilson Padilla using Sleeping Beauty turquoise.
The watchband is stamped with the RBL of Robert and Bernice Leekya. Circa 1965
They are both beautiful and I am humbled to just to sit in the same room as these two pieces of history.

I tell you this because, although, I know my sister appreciates the gift - Yes, and it is a gift . . . there is no way I would let my sister buy something for her wedding- It is the history and art of our heritage that displays the true value.

Congratulations, Jen.

Henry Gant.

**

Sort:  

This looks so beautifulll

Congratulations to your sister, I sure want gifts from my siblings on my big day

Thank you for your response, @funkeolotu. I'm sure you will get some great things from your brothers and sisters on that day. Let us know.

That's a beautiful work of art! Congratulations to your sister.
I happen to be a Native American Jewelry collector myself. Check out www.turkoi.com these young collectors have taste and are contributors to the indigenous communities. Blessings

Thank you for your reply @oblivist. It was a bit difficult letting them go. I think that I will shop the other trading post in hopes of getting a nice piece or two.

Best of collecting to you.

H. G.

congratulation to your sister

hey ... is not that a Turquoise stone? so pretty !
rocks bring peace, very calming ... steady.

Yes, it is turquoise, and these stones are beautiful.

Congratulazioni per sua sorella 🇮🇹😊

le deseo mucha felicidad a su hermana y que perduren en el tiempo. Ese regalo es bello! me encanta ese color en la joyas de vestir. que disfruten mucho en la boda! saludos!

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58012.92
ETH 3065.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24