You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More shoes more shoes and the want-purchasing cycle...

in #life6 years ago

Your last paragraph about shoppers being like zombies reminded me of a rap artist my husband introduced me to ... one of his songs talks about how we’re living in a zombie apocalypse, everyone out to “eat” the other if they get in their way. But he also has another song that mocks the consumerism mindset you’re talking about in this post. It’s definitely worth a listen, but here are a couple lines of the first verse:

“I'm like a drug addict
Strung out and bells and whistles come out with the new device I'll come with dollars by the visile
Not content with wishful thinking 'cause I need another fix
I'm on that 4.4, I need that 4.6
This all my possessions equals my identity
Improving quality of life albeit incrementally ...”

Artist: Foreknown
Song: Bird in Hand

https://noisetrade.com/foreknown/ornithology

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Thanks for reading and commenting.

I'n not really into rap artists however the lyrics are certainly relevant.

Not content with wishful thinking 'cause I need another fix
I'm on that 4.4, I need that 4.6

Lol, I’m not into rap either so I guess it says something for his lyrics/style that his song was the first to pop into my head 😃

Thanks for sharing insightful posts!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for your compliment. I try to write something that someone out there will relate to. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52