Giving gifts.

in #life6 years ago

Hello steemians! I started the week yesterday with an eye opener, I learnt what I already know albeit in another way. After meditating on the things I learnt, I thought it best to come on here to share as one or two people could benefit from it. It is about gift.
images (29).jpeg
Image source

Gift in this context is something that is presented or given to someone else; individually, a group or an organization. There are three perspectives from which we can look at gift: as an item; as talent; as a person. This post would be centered on gifts as an item, the main basics and more of 'hows'. Pride, self-centeredness would be reduced much when the act of giving gifts is well mastered.

The aim of this post is to make giving gifts a habit and even much more, a lifestyle. The advice is that one should have the habit of giving something substantial on a monthly basis, then it could be done on a weekly basis and even daily depending on the grace.

The first thing I learnt was the fact that we must learn to give and receive gifts. All this while I have known that giving good gift is good, but I have not known much about having to learn about receiving them. I used to think that I am inconveniencing the person offering the gift not knowing I had been displaying pride albeit in a subtle way. I am supposed to learn from a reservoir that maintains its relevance by giving out and also receiving fresh intake.

Now , I know while you are going through this you might ne wondering; what to give? There are many things to give, both tangible and the intangible and I would be listing a few of the combination of both. They are: money, resources, time, food, cloth, compassion, sincere compliments, supports, courtesy, commitment and so on.

The other thing I picked up was who I am to give to. To answer this question the speaker paraphrased a quote by a Reverend, Gbemini Eboda by name. The Reverend said

giving to your superiors validates your prosperity; to your contemporaries accounts for stability; and to your subordinates, security.

Immediately, I picked up the fact that I should not hesitate to receive graciously when measures of kindness are meted out to me. Since I have done the needful by giving, I should know it is only normal to receive.

The best way of inculcating the habit of giving is to initiate the culture of giving in ones family, it does not matter if you are a student or worker. Shower your parents with gifts, not mainly because they brought you up but because you are an informed and a responsible child. Make it a monthly thing with them and watch how favor and kindness would flow towards you. I also learnt not to procrastinate on the matter of giving, to say that 'I would start to give when I start working or make it big'. I can always start even if it is a recharge card or bread when coming back from travel.
images (30).jpeg
Image source

The way to give gift is to package it well and make it look presentable. It is not proper to show up for a wedding or a birthday party empty handed, come nearing gifts. If you do not know what to buy, put the money you intend to buy the gift with inside a neat envelope.
images (31).jpeg
Image source

I found this insightful and I decided to share, giving gifts is to be made a habit.

This post is inspired by Femi Tiamiyu.

I remain @heeyahnuh, keep steeming!

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

This is post has really enlightened me the more.
I've had issues with collecting gifts as well.

Welcome back DMJ😎

Thanks your your time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62324.87
ETH 2419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65