UNFAIR - Why?

in #life6 years ago
I tested this situation this year, in Bucharest. That's where I met Alina, a gipsy little girl who was about 7-8 years old.

On the first day we arrived in the city, we had "luck" of a heavy rain. In the center of the city were tents for a book fair. In these tents, people have sheltered from the rain. Among them was Alina.
Alina is the kind of child who begs the affection and kneels like a kitten next to any man willing to give him a touch of attention.
At the first interaction I didn't realise that and to my shame, I honestly believed he wanted to steal my pockets. Fear persisted to the next day, when she walked to my stand to greet me.

Then I realized how much society can make you an idiot and how many prejudices we take without realizing it.

In the moment when I realized that thing, I actually felt like a shit.
When I asked she if the parents knew about she, she replied that she "is sitting in Unirii Square". I hoped to be just another prejudicy of mine and that she really wanted to say she was living in the area. In a house, as normal. My colleague offered she a peach, and she took it, thanked her and asked if she was washed. She went to wash it and after she ate it, she threw the kernel to the trash. Then, she searched in his pockets and found a candy and five lei (romanian national currency) she had received from someone. She offered to give it to us. I told her to keep them for her and go to the store to get something. She told me she was keeping them to buy sneakers.

What worried me most was to realize that in 2018 these prejudices are passed on from generation to generation. Every day, in Unirii Square children were gathered to play with the ball or to run on rollers, bicycles, trotins, etc. And every day, when Alina was going to play, I heard the kids shouting, "The Gypsy is coming! The Gypsy comes! "Or the father, warning his child:" Matthew! the gypsy comes! ". On the third day of the fair, she came and hugged me. When she saw that I didn't reject him, she didn't want to let me go. How bad can you be to refuse a hug from a child who needs it the most?

In the experiment conducted by UNICEF, little Anna leaves the restaurant crying after a few rejections. I think we can not even imagine what is in the heart of a child like Alina, which is denied by society day after day

Sort:  

I had somehow a similar situation with a different funny outcome after all. Was waiting in carwash line and there was this young girl, looked been on street for a day or two and asked if she could sit in the car while car being washed. first thought its entertaining for her. Then she started crying and got off. Went to ask if she needed help, wasn't talking much, so offered to come to coffee get sth to eat. After being a bit in the car and hardly talking, realized she was on some hard drug and ran away from home when police raided and arrested her partner and she had nothing with her. It was a funny situation somehow I got myself into by not taking any prejudices :D somehow, helped someone to get away and go out of town running away.

I think this was thrilling 😂

Congratulations @heavydot! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of comments
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77