Making Friends is Bull...?

in #life6 years ago

917308FA-0543-4DBA-B58D-5A16B37AE88A.jpeg

What if this whole “make friends” business we push on our kids is BS? I know for many, it perpetuates this idea that we have to ‘make’ people like us, ‘earn’ their love, and for me, personally, (especially when I struggled) it perpetuated the idea that I was flawed, wrong, etc, and needed to change who I was on a core level to be “acceptable” for others to like. (I’m not talking about being a better person; self growth is and should be a given.)

But what if, in reality, we should be teaching discernment? Discerning who loves us for who we are, discerning who chooses our company because they appreciate us, strengths and all? Discerning who stands beside us when it’s rough and cheers us on instead of cutting us down or being mysteriously absent (“busy”)?

And what if, rather than playing mental chess games to win approval, ‘likes,’ dates, whatever, it’s learning how to discern who God (or fate, if you prefer) has placed in our path at certain times for companionship, for love, for encouragement, rather than going out on our own and trying to “make” friends and lovers out of those who were supposed to be neither...?

—deep thoughts from 2pm today.
(Mirrored on Weku)

A65EC2F8-FD93-48E6-8DDE-F2273398F7C6.jpeg

Sort:  

What an interesting thoughts, Heather. As a child, it was difficult for me to be among classmates, because I was a little wild and did not like big parties. However, I still prefer to work in peace and solitude and do not celebrate my birthday for a long time. If it were not for my family, who still give me gifts, I would not have remembered that this holiday exists for me. My wife and daughter love me for who I am, and I pay them the same.

As a kid (and even as an adult) I was kind of a loner as well. I find, especially after having a family, I enjoy company and kind of long for social interaction. But it is difficult, farming and raising small children take a lot of time and it is challenging to keep my social skills up.

That's okay, Heather. One day the children will grow up and will be your reliable support. And who, if not the mother will teach them not only to look after the farm, but also to listen and understand the music that fills our beautiful world : ) You are a wonderful women, and the difficulties will be overcome.

Thank you for the encouragement @yurche. 🙂 I hope you and your family are having a wonderful day!

beautiful photo 👌💐

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very interesting, I think your on to something there 😉

Hehe, I take it I must not be the only one who struggles socially? 🙂

Actually, I'm the life of the party.
Getting me to go to the party...
Act of Congress

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79