You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This series of stories will be titled ‘I’m surprised I turned out as well as I did, given my childhood…’

in #life7 years ago

That's an evocative read and I like the photo choices, too. I remember those little houses: we lived in one for a while, although upstairs bathrooms had arrived by then :) My great grandma came from Eastwood so she knew D H Lawrence (to nod at in the street, nothing personal). Upvoted and resteemed :)

Sort:  

Thank you :)

I live close to Eastwood now.

Knowing DH Lawrence (even just to nod at in the street) is a great piece of history!

The pit village where I was born is in Derbyshire, a stone's throw from where I live now, across the border, in Nottinghamshire :)

Really? That's a nice bit of nostalgia. I used to know that area very well. When I lived there it was mostly green belt - there were lovely fields and lanes in between the motorways. Guess it's all built up now.

Unfortunately, your guess is good.

We have fewer green spaces now and a lot of the built-up areas are eyesores - factory warehouses with no manufacturing, just storage because of the convenience of the motorway links.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67676.49
ETH 2622.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63