Is money the key to happiness?

in #life5 years ago

View this answer on Musing.io


(Photo by Niels Steeman on Unsplash)

I would say that money is NOT the key to happiness. There is no doubt that I am bound to be challenged for my answer and that is okay because these kind of answers are usually subjective (but I 'll try my best to be objective). I firmly believe that people are entitled to their own opinions and to defend them too.

As I understand it, happiness is a state of mind. There are people who are happy when they are experiencing pleasure and there are those who'll find happiness in pain. Given that these experiences may be fleeting and may not be counted as lasting experience, but in the end it is the opinion of people who went through them that will count. It's possible that even the memory of such an experience can trigger a response of happiness within an individual. 

Who is to say that having money cannot cause a person to be happy. So is it possible that I am wrong in my answer to your question? For this we would need to consider your question fully. A big part of my answer actually is based on a phrase used in the question itself - "....... key to happiness"

Let me explain further. I understand that having money can make a person happy for the time being. I also understand that having money can be an important part of the equation for a person to lead a fulfilling life. A life that allows this person to make his/her choices based on deeper thinking and not on the survival instincts of a human animal that has been reduced to starvation. 

What I mean to say is that money can be an important factor in the equation that allows a person to lead a happy and a fulfilling life. To accept my last statement is one thing but I still believe that money is NOT the KEY to happiness. 

To believe that money is the key to happiness of a human being is to believe that it is the most basic and an absolutely essential requirement for a person's happiness. This is certainly not the case. We have proof that people without money (even to the point of starvation and death) have found peace and joy in their lives. 

Let me summarize by saying that let us not judge people on their choices. We do not know what they have been through and the kind of lives they have led or experienced. I am not asking anybody to pity anyone but I am surely asking that we find understanding and respect for each other within our hearts. 

Shameless Referrals 

Sort:  

Yes but not THAT type of shitcoin fiat money that looks like monopoly money lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @hashcash!

You just got a 0.07% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95