What are your early morning rituals?

in #life5 years ago

View this answer on Musing.io


(Photo by Camila Damásio on Unsplash)

Here goes:

I always have the habit of taking a general look at what's around me the moment I wake up. I am not sure when it started, or maybe it was always there and I only noticed it much later in my life. I mention 'taking a look' because it is not something that I do subconsciously as I am quite deliberate about it. First thing is kind of feeling around my pillow, usually for my alarm or for my phone to check the time. Then comes the cursory look over at the general condition of room.

I have always found this habit of mine weird because frankly I don't drink or party all that much to find any surprises in my room or at most of the places that I sleep...... but I guess habit is a habit. 

After a visit to the bathroom I try (okay try is a strong word) to spend a few minutes praying and generally meditating. I do this more out of habit than anything else but it does help me center myself. Doing all of the above might seem like a long time but in truth only amounts to a few minutes. 

Next thing in order of the business it COFFEE! Can't do without it and I am an absolute fanatic about it ;-) The worst thing I probably do in the mornings is to consume a lot of sugar in form of cookies or anything sweet that's left over from yesterday. I really hope that nobody tries to change my mind about it here because it's not happening. Somebody does drugs, I do Sugar!

Then starts my digital life. After the daily checking of the crypto prices I go onto my social media (Steem and such) for a quick look but I do not reply or read anything fully at this time. The idea is to see if there is anything important and if there is, then I reply/read the relevant part but nothing else. I leave the heavy lifting for afternoons and the night.

I am not an ourdoorsy person during the mornings and the best I can do is to appraoch the window and take a peak outside as I drink my coffee. I make sure that my smartphone is silent/ in airplane mode or switched off during this time. Can't handle other people in the mornings..... just don't like being around anybody when I wake up. But once I am done with breakfast, this feeling changes (at least most of the times) because by the time breakfast ends I am already planning about the people I am gonna meet or any other work related meetings. 

All this takes a maximum of couple of hours. After that I begin my work day but on weekends the things are little different though. 

What about you guys? Anything different?

 Shameless Referrals 

Sort:  

Oh god! How nice to meet him one fan of coffee in the morning))) I will vote for you)

A fellow coffee fan!

Hi, @hashcash!

You just got a 0.07% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86