Good Guys are the Scum of the EarthsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

good-guy.jpg
This is Chucky. He's a Good Guy doll. He likes hugs and killing people.

I’ve seen a few posts here on Steemit considering the idea that it might (just might) be normal to be just a little bit (only a little bit, mind you) selfish and self-serving. These posts all follow the same logic, all of them in the end finding it a disappointing, yet undeniably true fact of human nature.

What the fuck is wrong with these people? If you’re the author of one of these posts, what the fuck is wrong with you? Being selfish and self-serving is nothing to be ashamed of. It doesn’t automatically mean that you’re dishonest and conniving, it means you’re self-aware and at the very least not lying to yourself. Welcome to the human race, kiddo, where the people who proclaim their goodness the loudest are the ones that you can guarantee will lie to you, stab you in the back with a smile, and then believe that they’re the victim!

Good guys are the scum of the Earth.

I think women more than men understand this through their everyday experience: every woman knows that a smile often conceals a switch blade and that a self-proclaimed nice guy is never anything of the sort. I don’t mean to say that every smile is dangerous or that there aren’t really nice guys out there, but girls really have to look out for themselves. If there’s any true gender gap in my culture, this is it.

Alas, I digress... Where was I? Oh yeah...

Good guys are the scum of the Earth.

Not being a good guy is something to be proud of. Good guys are people too weak to say what’s on their mind and then complain that no one listens to them! Good guys crave acceptance to the point of groveling at the level of a doormat only to grow bitter because people wipe their feet on them! Oh what a shitty world we live in! If only the world would change to serve them because being honest with themselves and other people is just too much to ask! Instead, the way to happiness is through manipulation of any kind that works at any cost to anyone. And let me tell ya, anything’s easy to justify for someone’s who’s been so “wronged”.

Did I say they were the scum of the Earth?

If you’re not a good guy, then that’s a good thing. Smile and pat yourself on the back.

Sort:  

I didn't vote, but you're welcome. :)

Good guys are the scum of the Earth.
Not being a good guy is something to be proud of.

It really depends upon what someone considered a good guy. It is a rather subjective term, as is bad guy. I don't consider someone looking out for their own self interest as good or bad. That is life. Everyone does it to a certain degree or they would long ago have been dead. Ayn Rand covered this pretty well in her books and many people get hung up on the concept of "selfish" without really seeing the underlying message. That's a problem when we judge words by our own subjective biases/preconceptions.

I'd argue that "good guys" can be scum, and "bad guys" can be good. :) It's totally subjective and to not qualify is to turn it into a generalization, an implied absolute, which are both generally false.

I do get where you are going though and for the most part I agree with you, I just think it is worth qualifying so as not to rope yourself into that generalization/absolute logical fallacy zone.

We're not likely to disagree on das Rand. I'm all about rational self interest.

The only BAD GUY in my book is someone who thinks they can force others to do things against their will, dictate what others can like, etc.

I don't so much have a definition for good guy. I mostly view things as people, and some of those people are dicks that think they should have the right to force others. :)

The only BAD GUY in my book is someone who thinks they can force others to do things against their will, dictate what others can like, etc.

What about someone who knows they can, and does. Someone, I dunno, like a Dom who has a sub who enjoys that sort of thing?

I mostly view things as people...

I tend not to talk to my TV. I know, that's not what you meant, but couldn't resist. :)

Someone, I dunno, like a Dom who has a sub who enjoys that sort of thing?

Survival is dangerous. We have to judge when we can potentially take action. You don't even have to say Dom. The Government works just as well and perhaps better for something like this.

Dom was my example. By saying Government you've taken my example out of context.

Survival is dangerous? What do you mean?

Sorry... was thinking about a few other things when I wrote that. Survival is tricky was what I meant to say. Meaning that sometimes we have to bend the knee if that is what is required to survive. Raising our head when it will only get chopped off and life ends is not that intelligent. So if we raise our head we better have some armor, or a contingency plan. :)

What's always worked best for me is running right towards whatever fear(s) you're metaphorically speaking about. :)

I'm a "damn the torpedos , full speed ahead" kinda guy.

I tend to be that way too. I also am looking at my surrounding for anything I can use as a weapon if need be. :)

I used to be that way. I still wear my "uniform" of thermal undershirt armor and utility swat fatigue pants. lol

Congratulations @hartnell! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92