Story 1: Introduce Yourself

in #life7 years ago (edited)

"Could you introduce yourself?"

That's the first question in every interview I have been, and it scares the hell out of me. It immediately drives my thought toward myself, and I start to doubt my own image.

What others think of me and what I think about myself are totally different.

Just like recently when I found out that I'm not that introverted as I used to think I am. When I asked about this, four of my closest friends gave the same answer: "Extrovert, accept yourself!".

To be honest, I hope I am extroverted because it makes social interaction much easier. I feel the burden of meeting new people. When my friends called me for a party last weekend, I felt procrastinated and canceled at the last minute just to stay home reading about Steemit and figuring out how to create an account (which I just did!! Yay!!)

Yet I am a salesperson, professionally. Moreover, I love my job. It allows me to meet new people, exchange ideas and expand my relationships. I feel rewarded just for doing those activities.

Am I contradicting myself? I don't feel so. Instead, that contradiction is so much ME. I'm drawn to the blur border of two things, where you can't tell which one it belongs to. This border exists everywhere: science and religion, emotion and logic, good and evil, etc.

Just like when I plan to use my real photos here, then later decided to go with a tree image. Although I have no problem revealing my identity, it would be more entertaining to have a little of openness and mysterious spices in everything. Feel free to address me by name or just TreeOK. It's a pleasure to meet you all!

Sort:  

Welcome to the community! It's a pleasure to have a well-spoken new member.

I often find that we are our biggest critics. We perceive ourselves one way, yet oftentimes we may be the opposite. It's certainly a lesson in self-awareness!

Thank you, @extremedistaste. Self-criticism is like a double-edged sword. It makes you undervalue yourself, but may also motivate you to overcome your weakness and become more perfect in your own eyes.

In my case, I used to experience impostor syndrome. However, as I gradually overcame my limits and build more self-esteem along the way, I'm quite happy that I could be critical of myself back then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51