Don't Take The Little Things For Granted! (a mindful story and photos)

in #life7 years ago

Put down your phone! Turn down the music! Close your laptop! Shut off the television!
We live in a world dominated by technology, media, and their content; a time when it is too easy to be distracted from reality.

Pleasanton-0002.jpg

For as long as I can remember, each year in October, when Halloween was right around the corner, my step-sister and I would empty pumpkins and carve some jack-o-lanterns!
Then, my mother would wash all the guts from the pumpkin seeds, butter them, salt them, and broil them. Something so simple yielded the greatest snack ever! I came to look forward to October every year.

Fast-forward more than twenty years later, I no longer live at home, it's October, and I'm afraid I won't get to carve any pumpkins this year (let alone enjoy roasted pumpkin seeds).

Pleasanton-0004.jpg

Looking back, I never thought something so simple as pumpkins would bring me such joy!
Another way to look at it would be that I never thought the absence of pumpkins (and their seeds) from my life would have such a negative effect on me.

The point of this little story is:
Enjoy the little things in life! Like pumpkins, for example!
It may be difficult to do with so many distractions bombarding us every minute, so we have to disconnect from it all.
Don't take anything for granted; be present and in the moment.

When we learn to appreciate the seemingly insignificant moments, they become significant.

Oakdale-0006.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99