3 Simple Daily Habits that could change your life!

in #life7 years ago

Many of us don't realise that our daily habits determine so much about us. These activities become almost subconscious after doing them over and over again. Most of us know we might have some habits that are negatively impacting our life, and tend to focus on trying to eliminate these in attempt to improve ourselves. I think this is a big mistake when it comes to self-improvement, instead of focusing on the negative things, we should focus on the positives things we can do.

Doing these 3 habits every single day have helped me improve my life more than just about anything. It's crazy how little positive activities added up over time can result in massive return, just watch you're life improve in front of your eyes as you pick up these 3 daily habits:

  1. Exercise:
  • This might seem pretty obvious to some, yet majority of people are still NOT exercising every day. Exercise is probably one of the most, if not the most positive activity you can be doing. There are a multitude of health benefits which include but are not limited to; brain/heart health, reduce risk of cancer/diabetes and other diseases, better flexibility, longevity, and the list goes on. The most important factor though that I believe gives exercise such positive feedback is it's affect on your mentality. Exercise is something that is improving yourself, whether it's a simple 30 minute walk outside, or an intense 2 hour strength training session, it is an act of focusing solely on yourself, which is extremely important if you're trying to bring some positivity into your life. People don't focus on themselves enough, they tend to worry about what everyone else is doing, don't be one of these people. Throw in 30 minutes of whatever exercise you like every day, and I guarantee your life will improve, and you will feel happier more often!
  1. Reading:
  • I can't believe I'm sitting here writing a blog encouraging people to read every day. It wasn't long ago that I despised reading, in fact I hadn't read a book from Year 10 English Literature, to my 4th year out of high school (6-7 year period). But when I picked up a book last year I was amazed at how much it improved my life. I've now read over 10 books this year and I'm loving it more than ever. The amount of knowledge you can retain from simply reading a book should be more than enough reason to include this habit in your daily life. Reading stimulates your brain in a way that almost no other activity does, and I don't mean simply looking at the words on the page, I mean really actively reading and absorbing the content. This also includes audio books, I am a massive fan of them as they let you essentially read a book whilst performing another task, I personally like to listen to audio books when I'm on longer drives, walking the dog, or any activity where I can actively listen easily. I encourage you to start reading even just 15 minutes a day, and read whatever you enjoy reading! You won't be able to keep the habit up if you try to read something that you don't find interesting.
  1. Thinking:
  • I believe this activity is incredibly overlooked. Thinking is probably the activity we should be doing the most of, yet most people barely actually think every single day. Now obviously our brains are working 24/7, but are we really actively thinking? Most of the time the answer would be no. I define thinking as actively using your brain to think about certain concepts, running over possible scenarios, answers, questions, anything to do with a certain topic or query. Thinking can also include meditation, as this is a form of relaxed thinking, or letting your mind enter a state of zen. We need to devote more time to simply thinking, as this can lead to many revelations and realisations, I have broken down many of my problems by simply laying in bed closing my eyes and thinking. Take out even just 10 minutes of your day to just think. Think about whatever you want to, whatever is eating away at you or bugging you, whatever that topic is you have to write your essay on, whoever that girl or guy is that you have a crush on. Just think for a while every day, even think about thinking (metacognition). Before you know it you'll be thinking more and more and you'll be wondering why you never did it before!

These 3 daily habits can yield incredible results if done consistently, in conjunction with each other every day. So yes if you skimp out on one of them, the results will not be as pronounced, they are meant to work synergistically with each other, try it out, you'll be thanking me in no time!

Sort:  

Couldn't agree more, @harrisbarclay. We could all do more of each daily.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67079.94
ETH 3266.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64