You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alpha episode 4: Is there more to life than this? Join the Alpha Course for a share of the SBD from this series of posts

in #life7 years ago

I know I'm married because I have a document that says so.

Before there was paper and the written word, people were married because they FELT they were married. They CHOSE to be married. No piece of paper could validate nor invalidate that feeling.

The Bible doesn't mention your specific name and therefore is no validation that you are a Christian. You are or are not a Christian based on your personal choice.

There exist evil people who hide behind the bible and profess to be Christians (I was married by such a person; the priest performing my marriage) but are far from being a practicing Christian.

I went to a Buddhist temple for an open house and was told by one of the Buddhists that I was a better Buddhist than they were.

Marriage, Christianity, Buddhism: They are but mere words to describe something and categorize it. The reality is what you feel and how you behave.

When I was in grade 5, the school handed out new testaments to all of us. I opened the book and began to read. One page listed 10 commandments. Part way down I read something to the effect of, 'Thou shalt believe or thou shalt be punished'. That's as far as I ever read from that book. I refused then and refuse now to be threatened into believing anything. In this video I saw something similar: You can choose Jesus and have eternal life, or die. There is no middle ground, no 3rd choice, nothing! Black or white. What if I reject Jesus but accept God? Nope... no good... you die!

But you know what? Death might just be better than eternal life. Death makes living now worthwhile. Knowing that you don't get a 2nd chance makes life worth living. Can you imagine being bored out of your mind after 200 Million years and wanting to kill yourself but not being able to?

I really have no idea and no proof one way or the other of what happens after death. So in the mean-time, I do my best to live life in a peaceful harmonious way and to assist others whenever I am able. I know that God loves me, but I wouldn't call myself a Christian, nor any other religious name for that matter. I am simply me; a lump of cells and organisms living together in a symbiotic relationship that we call a body and that body lives in a symbiotic relationship with a larger body that is the world around us; both physical and non-physical. I am God's creation and God loves me.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71289.49
ETH 3819.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44