You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Change of Scenery-- City Lights

in #life7 years ago

I'm a small town person. I appreciate being able to see the stars at night and finding plenty of free on-street parking, hearing nothing at night except perhaps the wind on a windy day. I grew up in a big city, but I love suburbia.

Sort:  

It's funny... I spent many years in cities, but don't actually want to live in one... I like the idea of all the facilities and cultural events of a city being nearby (and we're only 90 minutes from Seattle), but we hardly ever use them... it's just nice to know "it's there."

Absolutely my thoughts as well. I love being outside the city limits but still close enough to use the facilities of a big city when you need it. I grew up in Vancouver and watched it grow into the over-crowded concrete jungle it is now. The house I first lived in is still standing, but just try and find a parking spot close to the house now! When I was a child, there might have been 4 to 6 cars parked along the entire city block on both sides of the street. Most people (that had cars) parked in their garage, so there were few cars actually left out on the street. Now the street is full of cars and when anyone leaves, the spot is immediately taken by someone else! I'm reluctant to even go visit the old neighbourhood now. It's just too crowded for me. I moved out to the suburb about 36 years ago and love it here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60936.63
ETH 2387.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61